Oh you mean TODAY is Monday?

OH …my….gosh!

All Saturday I thought it was Sunday! So when I wrote my last post Saturday evening (I thought it was Sunday evening!!) No wonder I thought the weekend flew by so fast.

So Saturday night I was talking to The BG about all our Monday morning stuff, had the alarm set for bright and early to get the girls ready, had their backpacks and clothes all laid out.   And The BG said…Melissa, tomorrow’s Sunday.  WHOOOPPEEEE! I felt like it was Christmas!  I turned that alarm off so fast you wouldn’t believe it!

So with an extra day I decided I would go out and visit Mom and Dad.

It was BEAUTIFUL!!

The sun was shining and the colors were just so bright and lovely.

All jeweled tones sparkling in the sun.

I was happy to be alive in the beautiful world God created.

I took the back roads, and the whole way was like driving through enchanted tunnels!

kdjafiouhe 031

kdjafiouhe 027

When I got there, guess what the BEST DAD IN THE WHOLE WORLD was doing?

He was making my dry sink, don’t ya know!!

kdjafiouhe 043

Here is where he was with it when I got there.  It was looking almost done by the time I left , but I forgot to snap another picture.

kdjafiouhe 044

I know! It’s hard not to be jealous of THE BEST DAD IN THE WHOLE WORLD!! But I am sorry I just don’t share him! LOL

Then Mom showed me her whole cloth quilt that she has been hand quilting (off and on) for many, many years.  It’s almost done!!!

kdjafiouhe 045

kdjafiouhe 047

kdjafiouhe 046

It’s just so pretty! I am so proud of her for sticking with it.

Now I have a question if any of you can help.  When she was stitching on it outside on the deck many years ago, a bird pooped on it! I KNOW!!! Can you believe that!  But she couldn’t wash it of all the quilting lines would have washed out.

SOOOO…..when she is finished quilting it, do you know of anything to use to get that out?

White vinegar? Just laundry soap?  Anyone have any experience with that?

_____________________________________________________

Well I am off to get ready for Minate’s adoption hearing.  Send up a quick prayer for us if you can!

Later Gators, Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

12 comments on “Oh you mean TODAY is Monday?

  1. Lynda Green says:

    Melissa – what talented parents!!! Your Mother’s quilt is just magnificent. I would start with the least caustic way to remove the poop – old wives’ tale says it’s good luck… ha. Will keep you in my thoughts that the adoption hearing is successful.

  2. Michelle says:

    I will be praying that the hearing goes well! Your parents are very talented! Have a great week!

  3. Sue Cryderman says:

    Your dad is extremely talented and I can’t wait to see the finished sink. Your mother’s quilt is gorgeous! I have never seen such beautiful hand quilting ever. Her stitches are perfect. I would have no idea about getting the poop off though. Grandma’s Spot Remover, maybe?
    Thanks for the lovely post. Yesterday was truly a beautiful day here in Michigan wasn’t it?

  4. Lori says:

    You really are one lucky lady! a dad that can do wood work and a mom who quilts. Then there’s your family!!
    I would probable spot wash it with OXY Clean then throw it in the wash.
    and if that doesn’t work I like to get the spot wet and just put the oxy cleaner on that sopt and let it sit. I have been know to let it set for days. and then wash it and have not had a problem.
    thoughts and Prays are with you and your family on the adoption!!!

  5. Asiyah says:

    If your parents want another daughter, I’m up for adoption. 🙂

    I was just looking at a wholecloth kit to start for Olivia’s hope chest. Granted, the girl doesn’t turn 2 until December 1 but I think 20 or so years is enough time to finish it?

    Everything in this post was lovely: the dry sink, quilt and tree canopy. Thanks for sharing!

    P.S. I’ve already said a prayer for you guys!

  6. boysmum2 says:

    Awesome area, gorgeous pictures, loving parents and all the best for the hearing

  7. Charlene says:

    I also think oxy clean would work best! My daughter ‘painted’ her white shirt with my red nail polish and I soaked it constantly in hot water and Oxy clean (original powder) for 6 days and every bit of that polish came out and her shirt wasnt ruined! I have been sold on the stuff since! Good luck!

  8. Jane says:

    Hey, Melissa! Ruth sells a great product at the shop called Restoration that gets the yellowness and stains gently out of
    old linens, but it’s really tough stuff. I’ve heard people say they’ve used it to take all kinds of stains out of quilts. Check with Ruth before you go out to get it, I think she’ll have to order it. Good luck to your Mom – her quilt’s beautiful!

  9. Carrie P. says:

    Talented parents for sure.
    Maybe Oxyclean would work on the quilt. I bought some stuff in an antique store that looks really bad and now they look new since using it.
    The quilt is awesome!

  10. Jan says:

    Ohhhhh I had one of the “Best Dad’s in the Whole Wide World” too 🙂 Yours looks like a real sweetheart and a great big whow on your Mom’s gorgeous quilt!!!! I wish I had some wisdom on that bird mishap … sure hope she finds something that’ll work 🙂 Prayers for the final adoption … hope it brings about the need for a great big celebration for you all 🙂

  11. nanette says:

    The quilting is really lovely. And the photos of fall look like from movie sets. You really don’t get that look in Utah unless you are up in the mountain.

  12. Katie says:

    Wow – your parents are talented! I can see where your creative interests come from. If Oxyxlean doesn’t work, you could try the Carbona stain removers. I get them in the grocery store and they come in small (3 oz or so) yellow bottles. There’s about 10 different specific formulas, so just choose the one that best suits. On the back of the bottles, you peel up the label and it has a long list of which one to use for which stain. Good luck to your mom!

Comments are closed.