What was I thinking?

Okay so I took the plunge today and spent $100 on  1 inch thick foam, jiffy grip, and polar fleece, because I had a lot of confidence in Christmas-elf  self to  make 15 pairs of slippers as gifts for the ladies in the family.

But then…….

I made a pair.

YIKES! I am going to have to get the BG involved and make an assembly line.  The sewing part isn’t bad….it’s just the cutting all the parts. Especially the foam.  Any tips on cutting foam??

Here is how the first pair turned out:

Warm cozy fleece inside:

And safe, no slip jiffy grip on the bottom!

1 down 14 to go!

Later Gators, Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

17 comments on “What was I thinking?

  1. Jane says:

    The good old fashion electric knife!

  2. As Jane said, an electric knife works the best.

  3. Mary says:

    Oh my, I just made a pair of those for my granddaughter and am sooooo glad that I don’t have to do 14 pair more. Good luck.

  4. Dawn Heese says:

    How long would you say it takes to make a pair? Just curious.

  5. Carol says:

    They sure are cute!

  6. Sandra :) says:

    Your slippers are seriously cute!! I’ve never made them before, but I can imagine they would be a royal PITA to make, lol!

  7. Carrie P. says:

    Very cute! You will be an expert by the time you get to #15.

  8. Jan says:

    Oh, those are absolutely adorable Melissa! I really wanna give ’em a try, but I’m afraid you’re scaring me (LOL). Perhaps I’ll wait for a final updated official opinion after pair #15 is all wrapped up and under the tree 🙂 Good luck!

  9. Brenda says:

    OMG! They are adorable! What a treat…for the person on the receiving end. You? Not so much! HAHAHA! They are the cutest thing ever so hang tight and keep going, you can do it!

  10. Melody says:

    I concur the electric carving knife works perfectly! If you do not have one ask friends or family. Many people have them, never use them and would be glad to give it to someone they know. I mentioned that I was going to buy one at a family party (years ago) and at least four people offered me one.

  11. Libby says:

    You’ll hit your stride and they’ll be done in no time *s*

  12. Jeanne says:

    Where did you find the pattern for those softie houseshoes? I would like to make some too.

  13. mary jane says:

    I would like the pattern also- your look great also. Thanks MJ

  14. Deborah says:

    electric knife is the way to go and husbands like doing that part!

  15. Candy Gibbs says:

    I would like to know about the pattern for the softie houseshoes pattern also. I work in a nursing home, I could make these for the residents if not too complicated. Yours are so cute.
    Candy

  16. Melody - The Demanding Doll says:

    My daughter saw the slippers you are making the other day. Tonight she was sitting on my lap reading your blog with me and said “oh, she’s the one who is making the slippers!? Can you tell her I want a pair?” haha
    And she wants the penguin pajamas too! And the beautiful Fall trees instead of cactus. Geesh. Got room for another kid?

    Whew! My machine went on the blink today so I won’t feel like I just HAVE to make her slippers and p.j.s before Christmas. Never thought that would be a (very small) blessing.

Comments are closed.