It hurts to spend!

I have always held the same philosophy as my Dad about spending money…” If you spend generously God will give you more.” and ” Hey, that’s what money is for TO SPEND!!”   Dad and I usually just buy what we want and everything works out. LOL

But for some reason my spending habits have really started to change in the last year or two.  Suddenly I can hardly make myself buy things. (Does that mean I am growing up or just being cheap??? HAHAH)  I actually LIKE seeing something left in the checking account at the end of the week.

So that is why it was really hard for me to do the Christmas shopping with The BG this weekend.  We were both just throwing things into the shopping cart, and then a little later  I would take a few things out. (giggle)  We were laughing so hard by the time we were done because it’s so unlike my former spendy self to worry about spending.  But I bet I saved us at least 100 dollars or more by doing it, and those things aren’t even going to be missed.

It feels great to have the shopping done for the kidletts. There are a few more gifts to purchase for nieces and nephews , but for the most part we are set on that front!

I jumped on the Pencil/marker/crayon Roll bandwagon.  They really are the cutest gift idea for teachers!

AND as long as I was making 4 of them I might as well make 9 ! HAHAH

So I decided to make some for each of the family’s on the BG’s side.  He is going to print out a HUGE map sized coloring book page to go along with them.

I also made the Reindeer Chow yesterday! I have 3 large canisters full.  I will be using the other two canisters to put in small bags to give away.  But this one is all ours to munch on through the holidays.

I used:

peanuts

cashews

green and red M&M’s

white and milk chocolate covered almonds

dried cranberries

And made “reindeer chow” tags out of scrap book supplies.

Last but not least I want to thank Roseann from Rosebud’s Cottage for the awesome giveaway package I received today!

rotary cutter

olfa frosted ruler

Quilts N More Mag

Gudrun Book

I LOVE new rotary cutters and the ruler is my absolute favorite kind!!  Thank you thank you thank you!

Well I am off to work on more marker rolls and handmade gift tags for the gifties!

Later Gators, Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

11 comments on “It hurts to spend!

  1. Carrie P. says:

    You are getting older and realizing that stuff doesn’t matter as much as other things and the stuff only make you happy for a minute. You did good.
    I know your friends and family would probably rather have those lovely handmade gifts then something you bought that was made in China.
    Have a Blessed Christmas.

  2. Erin says:

    Your marker rolls are so nice. I made crayon rolls last year and they were a big hit. The Reindeer Chow looks yummy too! I may have to make some of that. We make Garbage. Sounds appetizing, right? It’s just Chex mix, peanuts, and pretzels mixed with melted white chocolate. It’s pretty good. Congratulations on winning an awesome give away!

  3. Michelle says:

    I have gone through life with the same spending philosophy and I also have found myself holding back these days. I love all of your handmade gifts. Those are the best kind. I received my sig. blocks today! Thank you for the Strawberry Pin Topper! You are so talented! The blocks are great. I can’t believe every fabric is different. Those are truly special. Thank you!

  4. Mary says:

    I think you must be growing up!!!!! Too funny! I think most of us are more cautious in our spending these days.

    I love the marker roll with the matching fabrics/markers. Very smart looking!

  5. Flatlander says:

    Got my signature blocks today and spent a few moments sorting through them and reading each and every signature. They REALLY are special and I thought of each participant as I read their name. This has been a lot of fun (though a lot of work for you). THANK YOU for being the sponsor of it 😉 I, too, used to almost feel I HAD to spend all the $$ that came into the house. I didn’t waste it … I just thought it had to go OUT if it came IN! I’ve become much more of a “saver” as I’ve gotten older (with retirement looming on the horizon) and give second and third thoughts to something before I purchase it … do I really, really need this? Is there something I already have that I can substitute?? Is it really worth what they’re asking for it and will it wind up in a garage sale someday??? Of course, that doesn’t hold true with fabric … LOL … I’ll see a new line and have to have a little of if … not as much as I used to purchase … but a few FQs here and there to add to the stash. I try and “justify” this theory with the fact that in retirement my income will be reduced so I need to stash fabric now to sew then … I wonder if that’s really true … any retired people out there using their stash rather than buying new?? At least that’s my story to my hubby and I’m sticking to it! LOL

  6. Flatlander says:

    BTW …. your Reindeer Chow made me hungry … going to have to give that a try!

  7. Lisa says:

    Your dad and my dad have the same philosophy and like you, I inherited the belief. Unlike you, I haven’t quite grown out of it. I’m hoping it will happen any day now! Congratulations!

  8. AuntpittyPat says:

    Oh goodness I lost my post!!! It just disappeared.. If you get two .. I am so sorry!
    I will try and repeat what I said…
    I agree with one of your ladies that has posted prior to me.. I agree we are getting older and we find that we don’t need to spend as much. We do make wiser choices. I was like you the money use to burn a hole in my pocket 😉 I find that I have a lot more than anyone person could need. I just don’t need that much any more. Well maybe that’s not true.. I always need fabric 🙂 Is it that I have figured out you need to save for a rainy day??
    Your color rolls are so bright and fun .. I know the children will love them 🙂
    You can never go wrong with any chow chow mix.. and yours looks so delicious.
    Congrats one your win.. wow a rotory cutter… awesome!
    Lastly thank you for your sweet remarks about my hair cut.. it does seem a bit strange.. NO MORE WEIGHT OR PULLING when in a pony tail or braid. 🙂
    Happy Holidays
    M

  9. Libby says:

    When I was young(er) I thought Christmas was all about having a wish list as long as my arm. Suddenly one year that all ended – I love the season for the season, the lights, the decorations, the foods, and most of all being surrounded by family and friends. The shopping is the least of it all. But no matter what I’ll never outgrow my love of Christmas *s*

  10. Jan says:

    I have a wise friend who says “waiting is the best saving device we have!” Normally if we wait and think about it, we don’t want it any more 🙂 I think it’s those impulse purchases that drain our bank accounts 🙂

    B/f I forget, the slippers below are absolutely awesome! Congratulations on finishing all 15 pairs … your family is gonna be thrilled 🙂

  11. Kim says:

    Know just what you mean about spending 🙂 It has gotten downright PAINFUL. hahaha

    I made a dozen colored pencil roll-ups recently, some to give as gifts and some to sell. They’ve been a big hit. I added bits of elastic to hold a little plastic pencil sharpener (came with the pencils) and an eraser.

    Have a wonderful, blessed, best ever Christmas!

Comments are closed.