A block by any other name…

Did you know that there is a quilt block for just about any word you can come up with?

HERE is a fun site that lists LOTS of quilt blocks alphabetically.

I love looking at the names of quilt blocks and wondering who came up with the designs.

With my flare for the dramatic, I imagine some poor pioneer going blind sewing by candlelight,  Mary Ingalls style,  trying to make something to impress her quilting bee friends with. Then when she was done she had to name it of course!

Many of the names sound like they just looked out their paper thin windows and the first thing they saw, they named their block.

Like this one, my new favorite:

CORN AND BEANS

Oh yes there is a quilt block named for my blog! LOL

Okay I know it’s not named after my blog since the pioneers didn’t have the internet.  But this is my story time,  so I can make anything up!

I’m definitely going to have to make a quilt using this block.

Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

7 comments on “A block by any other name…

  1. Mary says:

    I have always loved the Quilter’s Cache site. It is amazing how many quilting blocks there are out there.

  2. Libby says:

    Isn’t it a fun site – lots of great blocks out there just waiting to be made *s*

  3. Jan says:

    It’s an absolute must that you make that block Melissa, so please hurry cuz I wanna see 🙂

  4. Brenda says:

    Nice try there Missy, hahaha… You know I’ll have to go check for a pumpkin….hmmm

  5. sarah the suburbanite says:

    I’m looking for an air related block, so I’m off to see what I can find. Thankyou for the link, it’s excellent!

  6. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    I’ve always loved that block, plus the Lady in the Lake and Birds in the Air blocks. Quilter’s Cache is a wonderful website. Sometimes I’ve gone there and just “played” with the various blocks to see why quilt designs I could come up with using the various combinations. I think you need to incorporate into your blog banner, Melissa.

  7. Michelle says:

    Oh, I can’t wait to see your new quilt using that block. That is so neat!

Comments are closed.