The moving blahs.

How long has it been since you moved into a new house?

Do you remember waiting to move?

It really puts you in a state of limbo.

I have boxes in my living room, new furniture in boxes, empty boxes waiting to be filled.  We still have a few weeks so I can’t figure out what to pack and what not to pack. What if  I pack it and then we need it? LOL  So my solution has been just not to pack !!

I don’t want to start any new quilting projects because I don’t want to be in the middle of anything when we do start loading the moving truck.

So instead I sit and stew and dream of where I will put this and that in our new place. Very productive, I know.

I did do one productive thing.  I bought some three ring binders and dove into my MILE LONG HIGH stack of quilting magazines.  I mean it. The stack was HUGE.  It was about 5 or 6 years worth of quilting magazines.

I torn out anything I think I might miss if I threw the magazine away and tucked them into protective sleeves.

Now that huge stack is just one little binder! One thing to move instead a many.

I did the same thing with my loose patterns:

GIVE AWAY

Now you can benefit from the organization of my patterns!

I went through all my patterns and would like to giveaway some patterns that I have already made and are just taking up space.

Leave a comment if you would like some gently used patterns and I will select two people and split the patterns between you.

I will randomly select 2 names on Monday, March 22.

Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

47 comments on “The moving blahs.

  1. Cecelia says:

    What a great giveaway. I would be thrilled to get to share your patterns. The last move I made was in 2000, and it was intended to be the last move ever!

  2. Screen Door says:

    We thought we were moving in December— I threw away (Good will)ice skates, flowerpots, tons of stuff…only to find out we weren’t–OUCH! Thanks for sharing. If I win, I’ll hold a give away to pass on pieces I already have… the gift that keeps on giving….
    Be Sweet– thanks for sharing…

  3. I totally understand how you feel about moving!! I dread the thought of having to do that again…ever!! I would love to be included in your giveaway, that is so sweet to pass on your treasures!!

  4. I completely understand the moving blahs. We have moved several times over the years and it never gets easier. I usually pack up almost everything in the weeks leading up to the move. I leave out the most used pots and pans but pack up lots of kitchen items. I leave out enough cups and plates for one meal and a couple extras. We do lots of dishes before moving day lol. Same thing with laundry.

  5. Jan says:

    Oh what a fun giveaway Melissa! We haven’t moved since 1991! OMG, that’s 19 years!!! I’d pack it all up tho to move into a new house cuz that sure sounds like such an exciting venture! The one thing I remember about moving is that I always took such care with the first half of the boxes … but then the last 1/2 of the boxes were a total disarray cuz by that time, I was just throwing things in (LOL). I wish you “smoothing sailing” my dear 🙂

  6. Balinda says:

    I would love to have some patterns. I am planning on never moving. My stuff is finally in the places I want it. 🙂

  7. Liz says:

    Wow, what a great way to get ready to move. Please sign me up for your generous give away. Happy moving! Lizzie

  8. Tammy says:

    I would love some gently used patterns, just getting into quilting, I am almost done with my first quilt that i am hand quilting!!!!

  9. Melissa, I feel your pain. We have moved 3 times in the past 10 years. It is not fun!! I have also begun putting patterns in 3 rig binders but haven’t had the nerve to cut into my magazines yet. Maybe you will give me the gumption to do just that. I would love to add some “gently used” patterns to the stack, though.
    Thanks for offering. Donna

  10. Sue Phillips says:

    Hi, the last time l moved was over 10 years ago and still have a few boxes that have still not been unpacked:( so l wish you luck. I have been putting loose patterns in binders for a while now but love to look through the magazines, so would enjoy some used patterns,
    Sue…

  11. Mary says:

    Oh, Melissa, I feel your pain, as they say. I really did not like moving. I think our worst move in the Navy was for a temporary 4 month move to Tennessee. We had to sort things into three piles – one for our future site, one for the four month stay (limit 500#) and one to hold us over until the items arrived. I never had anything that I needed.

    But…….you will love putting everything in it’s place and getting settled.

    I would love to be added to your list for the patterns. I have lots of granddaughters to share them with too.

  12. Pokey says:

    Melissa, we moved from a rental house of 20 years, to our first home purchase. I described it as one of the hardest things I had gone through in years! You are so smart to go through the mags as you’ve done, they tend to accumulate, don’t they? Thank you for sharing your patterns.

  13. Jeanne says:

    I have several binders for my patterns – I have them seperated by Christmas/clothing/tablerunners, etc. – so if your giving some away, I have a good place for them. (until they get made that is) Good luck in the move – it will be a good thing….

  14. Heather says:

    Oh, it must have been difficult to go through all your quilting magazines and ‘cull’! But it seems you have found a way to have the best of both worlds with your new binders full of goodies! Yes, moving can be so hard, but also a great time to go through everything and get rid of the excess. Now, I’m not moving anytime soon, so would love to receive your patterns! Good luck with the move! ~ Heather

  15. Elaine says:

    Wow, what a great giveaway! Count me in….like I don’t have enough patterns, lol! I would actually share them with a few little girls who are starting out as quilters. Thanks for entering me, Elaine

  16. Anett says:

    I just love all the patterns and organization you are doing. Great Job. I didn’t know you were moving….I hope you will be happy wherever it is you are going.

    Anett

  17. Doreen B says:

    Wishing you a smooth move!! I try organizing and I never get very far.
    But one can never have too many new patterns.
    I’d love to be entered in your giveaway.

  18. Polly Monica says:

    Gosh, I agree! I hate moving…but it does afford one the necessity of cleaning out old stuff, right? LOL I’d love some gently used patterns! Count me in! Polly 😉

  19. Danielle says:

    Oh, moving IS a drag! But I love the feeling of a new place. Fresh paint, fresh start. Things get organized and sorted, and I love the pile of things to get rid of! Good luck!

  20. Debra says:

    Please enter me in your drawing.

  21. jomaj says:

    The last time I moved was in 1988 when I married my husband. He won’t move again until he moves to the cemetery, so I’ll probably be left with the most massive clean out / throw out of all time. I’ve already told him I’m just going to pack my car, throw a few grenades and sell the house lot.
    On the up side, it’s so great to clean out stacks of things & narrow down the goodies – I love the idea of setting up a notebook with all the magazine clippings. I might do that anyway, and I’m not moving!

  22. Kate says:

    we moved in october ’09 and i’m still unpacking. much of my fabric is still in boxes and will remain there until i locate new storage for the new sewing room – which is just walls, no cabinets. good luck with your packing and unpacking.

  23. Laurie says:

    I would love to share some of your patterns. I am moving in the future and see myself in the same situation as you. Plesae enter me in your giveaway. Thank you!

  24. Sally Frye says:

    What a generous thing to do! I’d love to win !

  25. Deb F says:

    Good luck with the moving. We’ve moved homes over 21 times… my husband is a builder and I’m a home designer (when I’m not quilting). The best tip I can give you is to be organized and make a label for each box with the contents and which room it is to go in. ALSO, move anything you REALLY treasure, yourself. My well-meaning husband has broken many items accidentally and the movers are worse. We also pack a box of cleaning items, rags, trashbags, soaps, washcloths, towels, plastic forks, plastic cups, etc as our FINAL box. This box comes in handy to clean up after everything else is gone and then it’s the first box in the new place.. also to clean up as we move in.

    Thank you for thinking of giving away some of your patterns.. what a wonderful idea. I would love to be entered into your drawing.

  26. Molly says:

    I’ll help lighten your pattern load! 🙂 What a great giveaway. We moved into our current house in 2007 when I was 7 mos preggo…not fun! We’re moving the end of this year to Alabama, and I’m dreading it (the act of moving, not the relocating part, if that makes sense). The worst part is moving two cats and our dog.

  27. Sherri says:

    What a great idea! I really need to organize too! And of course I’d love to help you out…I can’t imagine how much work is involved in moving!

  28. Cindy says:

    Melissa,
    We moved into our house 17 years ago…but we’ve been married for 30 years and have moved a total of 8 times. And 7 of those moves were in the first 6 years of our marriage. When we moved here, I told my hubby that we were never moving again. However, I know at some point that we will have to, because I have knee and feet problems. We live in a tri-level and the doctor says that stairs are not good for me. Bummer…cause I really love my house.
    Best Wishes on your move!! Hope everything goes smoothly!!
    ~Cindy~

  29. mary jane says:

    Well let me start by saying congrat’s on you soon to be move. Best wishes!!! Not that I need another pattern but then again why not try to win ;). Thanks for the offer.

  30. Pat McDonald says:

    Hi Melissa, Isn’t moving suppose to be up on the stress meter with divorce ? Just remember it will all be over and you’ll be settled in your new place before you know it. Thank you for the idea of organizing quilt patterns. Please enter me in your pattern giveaway!!!! Thank you, Pat McDonald

  31. Michelle says:

    Thank you for this generous giveaway! Although preparing for the move is hard, I hope that it will be a lot of fun when you get to your new digs!

  32. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    WOW … we MUST be kindred spirits. I just finished that exact same project at my house … we’re moving to Michigan (someday, hopefully sooner than later) and rather than move a gazillion magazines I went through each and every one, pulling out patterns that I want to make someday, articles of interest, etc. They now reside in protective sleeves inside of binders … will be MUCH easier to move. I had originally thought to scan them into my computer and make up an index (maybe I will do that someday) but what I realized after I completed this project (and reorganized all my other patterns) is that I will have to live to 357 to make all the quilts I have planned!! LOL Would love some of those patterns … plus it’s my birthday this coming Saturday (March 20th) … we could call it “even” in the birthday present department …. LOL BTW … I am VERY excited for your move and your new home … good things happening to good people!!

  33. Wendy says:

    Oh, boy! Would I ever love some of these patterns! Hope you have a smooth move and that everything goes as planned!

  34. Jennifer says:

    We moved last May and I STILL have boxes stacked in the garage. Out of sight – out of mind. However, I made sure to unpack ALL of my quilting supplies first when we moved in! hehe Good luck moving. Maybe I’ll go thru those boxes this weekend…..nah! Will probably end up at the machine instead. Have a good time! Jenn

  35. Carrie P. says:

    Yes, moving can be rough but be patient you will get to get all settled soon. We have moved a lot of times and it is a lot of work.
    Lots of great looking patterns someone will enjoy a lot. Maybe me.

  36. Cathy M says:

    I moved the day after Christmas year before last. I had a house full of visitors celebrating Christmas with tree and all. After dinner we started packing up all the house accessories I had left up to make it look normal. We took the tree down the next morning while waiting for the movers. It actually went quite well but I would definitely pick a different time if I ever move again.

  37. Dawn says:

    Throw my name in the hat too!! Great giveaway! Yea, I didn’t like moving either…and hope I never have to do it again.

  38. juliez says:

    Moving is never fun, but it does give you a chance to clear out some stuff! I love patterns, so enter me, too! Thanks.

  39. Carol says:

    Oh, I feel your pain about moving! I still have fabric boxes that haven’t been unpacked.
    Please enter me in your pattern giveaway.

  40. Elaine says:

    Good luck with the move. I would love to be entered in the giveaway. Some great patterns there.
    Thanks
    luverlie@gmail.com

  41. Barb R. says:

    Moving tip #101
    Pack a box now with clean sheets, pillowcases, and bathroom linens for your first night in your new home. Label the box as one of the “IMPORTANT” boxes! And make those beds as soon as they are set up in the new bedrooms becasuse by the time that you are ready to go to bed, you will be so tired and it is wonderful to know that your bed is ready and waiting for you! So all you will have to do is take a shower and fall into bed.
    I would love to have some of your recycled patterns. Your blog inspires me to create! Thanks a bunch.

  42. crystal knight says:

    Wow! I would love to win a pattern. Please enter my name in your drawing.

  43. Kate says:

    I would love to be as organized as you. I have so many quilt magazines that I have been collecting for thirty years or more. And now I am hoping I win more patterns. What is wrong with me????

  44. Sue H. in MI says:

    Enter me in your drawing, please. I’d love to have some gentley used patterns.

  45. GREAT idea! On many levels! WOW!
    I’ve been offline due to my computer calling it quits and living on an island….Now that I have a new computer and am back online, I can’t wait to catch up on your posts,etc.

  46. Melody says:

    We never think about how much we have until we have to move it. Good Luck to You! I despise moving.

  47. brigitte says:

    What a wonderful and generously give away. Sure I would like to catch one or two of these patterns.
    I wish you much luck on your move!

Comments are closed.