Settling In

We have been settling into our new home nicely.  There are still things to buy, rooms to paint and things to tweak.  That is the fun of nesting isn’t it?

I am excited to plant some flower pots this year for the front porch.  I haven’t done that in a couple of summers. I do miss growing things and playing in the dirt.

We  joined a community garden a couple blocks away.  So far we have just been preparing the lot, but expect to get the planting done this week.

I will be sure to take some pic’s of the garden as it grows.

2 weekends ago the BG and I met up with some of my college roomies in Frankenmuth, Michigan for the WORLD expo of Beer!

There were over 350 beers to try.  I don’t think I managed to try them all, but we had a great time.

As for sewing…

I have just gotten back into sewing after the move and some sewing machine repairs.

I decided to try my hand at some clothing patterns that have been laying around for a couple years.

First, I made this Cabo Halter by Amy Butler last week.  I just love her patterns, they are so easy peasy!

Next,  I am going to try my hand at making her Barcelona Skirt

Hope to be around blog land a little more now that we are settled!

Later Gators, Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

4 comments on “Settling In

  1. Mary says:

    Glad that the “nesting” is going well. You will really enjoy the planting and playing in the dirt.

    Love your cute top!!! I have never tried one of her patterns. Guess I need to check them out.

  2. Sue says:

    So glad you are getting settled in. Nice to see you back in blogland.

    I love Amy Butler patterns too and you did a nice job on her halter 😀

    Have a wonderful week!

  3. Your sewing looks great! I have several of her patterns, including this skirt, and LOVE them! YEs, so “doable”, and love the styles.
    I’m so glad you are nesing and sounds like you are loving where you are living. Worth the wait!!!
    Show us your pretty girls soon!!! Miss you, but know you’ve been busy! XO

  4. Misty says:

    I’m glad that you’re settling in! I moved almost a year ago and it feels like we are still settling in sometimes.

    Your halter turned out so pretty. 🙂 I’m about to try the Barcelona Skirt out, as well. Good luck!

Comments are closed.