3rd times the charm?

I just got my sewing machine back (from the manufacturer this time) and before I even pieced ONE QUILT  it seized up on me AGAIN.

I am disgusted! It isn’t even 2 years old yet,  and this will be the third time I have had to take it into the shop in 3 months.

So in the middle of sewing up my Red and Aqua Disappearing Nine Patch Swap blocks that Jane ran last fall, I had to pull out my old machine to finish.

Then I immediately opened a bottle of wine because I have PMS and didn’t want to start thinking about how long my machine will be gone THIS time.

Here’s how it turned out:

I’ve never done a disappearing nine patch before so if this looks super random there’s a good reason.  Every time I tried to lay out the blocks it just didn’t look right so I kept putting off sewing them together.  Finally I threw caution to the wind,  I just sat down and started randomly sewing blocks together without a care in the world how they landed.

Sometimes you just have to say “who cares,” or things never get done. GIGGLE!!

I think it will make a good picnic quilt!

On Friday my Mom and I drove around and did some flower shopping.  She brought me some of my old pots that she had stored for me.  I used to be a big gardener when we owned our home.  I haven’t planted anything in a few years. This year I decided I needed to play in the dirt a little, so I will plant some pots and dig a small bed for a few perennials.

The pots always look better after they have had some time to grow but here they are in their infancy:

I bought some bright new lawn chairs too!

I forgot how fun it is to decorate the outside!

I couldn’t resist taking this photo.  I think fairies must live in our yard, don’t you?

Later Gators…Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

15 comments on “3rd times the charm?

  1. kaholly says:

    All those pretty flowers must have cheered you up some! Your sewing machine problems are probably why I will never part with my ‘old’ machine. It isn’t fancy, it doesn’t do everything except wash the dishes, but it is tried and true and dependable! (And paid for!) ~karen

  2. Mary says:

    I love the randomness of your red and aqua. I think that is the way it has to be done. I still have to put mine together.

    Love all of your gorgeous flowers!!!!!!!

  3. fiberdoodles says:

    Your quilt is BEAuTiFul! All those bright colors just scream happy!

  4. Sherry says:

    I love what you did with the flowers. So sorry to hear about your amchine I feel for you mine is in also but I’m thinking its just for a check up. Crosing my fingers. Hope yours get better soon

  5. Lovely quilt and flowers! ha~I just posted about “Pink Lemonade” that has been 75% complete for a year now and I finished it! Did the original thing I was gonna do! I say a FINISHED quilt is better than 10 sitting collecting dust~and they always turn out so neat. So glad to see your post and see that you are “nesting”. Oh goodness, what kind of machine do you have? that’s awful! Keep on, keepin on my friend! XO

  6. nanette says:

    Love the disappearing 9 patch. It worked out great. I am surprised to see you with these colors though. The flowers are wonderful.

  7. What a lovely quilt…the colours are amazing. I’m not sure what a disappearing nine patch is supposed to look like but this is fab!

  8. Carol says:

    I love your Disappearing 9 Patch…it’s just wonderful! Your flowers are beautiful and yes,there must be fairies living there.

  9. Charlene Hormann says:

    I really like how your 9 patch came out! What a cheary pic-nic that will be! Just wanted to stop by and tell you that I finished my sig quilt several weeks ago… just have been unable to blog about it until today. Head on over and check it out! http://thehormanns.blogspot.com/2010/06/summer-time-already.html
    Have a wonderful week! (and i hope your sewing machine gets better real soon!)

  10. boysmum2 says:

    Quilt is just amazing, love it. The pink chairs are brights but so what you need in summer. We are just getting our winter down here so to see your brights flowers was so pleasing, cheers up any rainy day

  11. Sue says:

    Well I am so sorry about your machine. Not good and not fun:( Maybe you should try your hand at hand-piecing.
    Your flowers are just gorgeous and you did a great job.
    I also love your pink lawn chairs ! 🙂 🙂

  12. Bridget Shirey says:

    I just came across your blog by a fluke and I’m so happy that I did! LOVE your quilt. The colors I’m wild about. Great job! I have tried to learn how to quilt from my Auntie and sneezed at the fabric, gonna try again. You’ve inspired me 🙂 LOVE the name of your blog.

  13. Margaret says:

    I have had the same thoughts with the disappearing 9 patch, and I think – caution – did a good job when thrown to the – wind -.

  14. Red and tourquise are my new favorite combo. I’ve always loved red. So adding the tourquise was no problem. I like your quilt ….A LOT!

  15. Jennifer says:

    Hi Melissa! I so love your aqua and red quilt!!! That is such a fun block too. We are about to redo my daughter’s (almost 9)room in that same color scheme! I so love your fabrics. I’ve just now started looking at fabrics online in those colors and am having such fun. Glad ya’ll are settling into the new house! Take care! Still have to get my civil war siggys put together one of these days too!:-) Jenn

Comments are closed.