Impromptu Weekend

On Friday, before The BG got home, I started having a severe case of wanderlust.  I needed to get out and about.

I ran up to his office and asked if I could make reservations at an Inn along lake Michigan for the weekend.  He said, “Sure, I wanted to take the kids to Michigan’s Adventure this month anyway.”

We stayed at the cutest old-fashioned Inn called Lakeside Inn Resort in Whitehall, Michigan.  It reminded us of the movie “Dirty Dancing.”  Like something out of the 50’s or 60’s.

This is The BG and Patience inside our Cabin

Here’s the view of White Lake from our front porch

There were a ton of sailboats making formations. It was beautiful to watch while The BG and the kids played in the sand.

Then we hit the pool because Minate HATES to swim in lakes.  We all tease her that she is a “chicken-licken,” but secretly I prefer the pool too!

In the evening we walked the pier along the channel where the lake empties into Lake Michigan.  The sunset on Lake Michigan was just gorgeous!

There was the cutest little light house near the pier.

This is what I want for my birthday this year! LOL

The next day we hit the amusement park.

I kept telling The B.G. every time we got off a ride, “I’m too old for this!”

Of all the rollercoasters and other rides we rode that day, the swings were the WORST!!  I used to love that ride when I was a kid, but I have to say I did NOT like dangling from a string that high in the sky! LOL

Good Times!!!

later gators, melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

6 comments on “Impromptu Weekend

  1. fiberdoodles says:

    Oh what a fun looking place and I bet so much cooler than the pushing 100 temps here. Two summers ago we went to Cedar Point and it was a blast. Ever been? So glad you had a good time :0)

    Enjoy your day!

    Ps: I finished my sewing room :0)

  2. Sue says:

    It looks like your girls were having such a great time. How nice for you to be able to get away like that. We all need that from time to time. I loved these photos (being a Michiganian 😀 ) And I LOVE the one of the lighthouse as I am a lighthouse nut!

  3. Brenda says:

    Oh, how fun! GP has been to the park once this year..ONCE! =( The weather is either too hot or too rainy. Total pooper of a Summer. Guess I’ll have to go up to MI to get some real Summer weather, HUH? Wish we were there! =)

  4. Oh wow!~ what a wonderful time! “Makin those summer memmmrys!!!!”
    LOVE IT!
    Great photos also.
    XO

  5. tammy says:

    What a beautiful place. I want to go there, hmm, it would be quite a drive though, guess I will settle for the Oregon coast for now. Looks like y’all have a fabulous time. Isn’t it great that summer is finally here.

  6. Hi Melissa,
    Just stopping by to say thank you for your kind words when my mom passed away. They meant a lot to me.
    Oh, what a wonderful Post. Looks like a piece of Heaven. So glad you and your sweet family could get away.
    Your girls are adorable! I looooved your Easter Post of them in their beautiful dresses.
    Take care and have a wonderful Summer.
    Mary Lou

Comments are closed.