All About Gardens (part 1)

It seems gardening has been taking up a lovely portion of my time lately.

Our community garden is all planted and growing….weeds included.

The Battle Creek area Garden Tour was last weekend.  It is a tradition for Mom and I to go. We look so forward to it every summer.

I will share those in my next post because another sort of garden altogether is what I would like to share today.

The girls and I had a BLAST building a fairy garden.  I think I had more fun than they did!! GIGGLE.

I guess I never grew out of loving to build little forts outside.  I think I will do it more often now that I remember how fun it is.

First we took a walk all around the block picking up rocks, and twigs, and acorns OH MY!

Then we painted our fairy houses , glued, glittered, feathered, and whatever else struck our fancy.

Then came the fun part!!

We picked a nice shady spot in the alley in back of our house and built away.

We made a lake

Complete with a light house

There is a spot for their wheelbarrow and garden tools.

They have to travel quite a ways to the water well WAY up top on a rock

Patience’s fairy house is just to the left of the lake.

Then you take the pebble pathway around the Water Well rock to Minate’s fairy house.

To get to my fairy house you just travel straight up the path from the lighthouse

It seriously kept us busy the WHOLE day, we looked up and it was 5 o’clock and time to make dinner.

We’ll work on it some more this summer adding whatever we find.

We spread out a blanket near our fairy garden and I read aloud from one of our favorite books

Lady Cottington’s Pressed Fairy Book

It is an adorable book.  It is supposed to be a little girls diary in which she catches fairies between the pages.

Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

7 comments on “All About Gardens (part 1)

  1. SO much FUN!~I’m so envious. I saw on SMALL THINGS blog (left on my page, you’ll love it), that they built a fort in the garden the other day. It’s such a magical time of year to be outside if you are lucky enough to have young people. ENJOY every minute of it. Oh, and she also read to hers outside on a blanket! 🙂

  2. Mary says:

    What special memories the girls will have! I need to check out that book as it sounds wonderful.

  3. Sherry says:

    Girls and mom you all did a wonderful job. Waiting to see what else you do so the Faries can come to visit.

  4. Jean says:

    Your girls are going to remember these times forever! Good going Mom!!!

  5. I’ve been following your blog for a while and didn’t realize until now that you live in Michigan. My hubby and I lived in Kalamazoo for a year where he did one year of his graduate work. We will be back there in Sept for the first time in 32 years. We loved Michigan and look forward to seeing how Kalamazoo looks now.

  6. Kate says:

    How precious and imaginative. Your little girls are making such happy memories and you are too.

  7. barb says:

    I’m so impressed at the creativity!! didn’t know kids still do things like that..am so glad to see it!

Comments are closed.