My August Blog Entry

The Sun is setting on our 2010 summer.

The mornings are just starting to get chilly. I had to grab a sweater to have my morning coffee on the porch today.

Only a week left until the kids are back to school.  Those backpacks are all stuffed with school supplies and waiting!

It’s very bittersweet to say goodbye to this wonderful, busy, fantastically beautiful summer.

The bitter part is that I will miss all the fun and sun.

The sweet part is that I need a break!!

A look back at what we did this summer:

A trip to Lake Michigan

Michigan’s Adventure Amusement Park

A week at Aunt Lesa’s Cabin on Coldwater Lake.

Build A Bear Workshop

Patience’s 10th Birthday party

Minate’s  7th Birthday party

Camping at Fort Custer with Uncle Mark and Aunt Andrea

The Longest Breakfast table in the world

A weekend on the Lake with Alicia,Chris, Matt, Lynn, Amy, Dan,Jeff, and kids.

Shipshewana  with Grandma and Grandpa

Swimming in Poppa Bob and Grandma’s pool

Working in the community garden

Family Beach days

Full Blast water park

Binder Park Zoo

The Black Crow’s outdoor concert

World Expo of Beer

Not much sewing occurred this summer.  It was too beautiful to sit inside.

A look back at my summer projects:

2 Amy Butler Tops

FLW quilt top for the BG’s boss

Red and Aqua Swap quilt

Fall Table runner.

Oh who am I trying to kid… I am SUPER looking forward to the peaceful days of fall when I will have those glorious moments of alone time between 8am-3pm, with no fights to break up between the girls.  LOL

Later Gators,

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

5 comments on “My August Blog Entry

  1. Sue says:

    Your summer has been as busy as ours. It has been a wonderful summer. Your days just sound like they were filled with lots of fun.

    I love the fall and winter too as it is a time of rest (or at least it’s supposed to be) and quilting!!

    Looking forward to seeing more of your quilt projects:)

  2. Mary says:

    Glorious summer pics!!!!

  3. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    Sounds like a wonderful summer but glad to see your blog is back … missed you! Pictures were great … thanks for sharing! LOVE the FLW quilt top … did you design yourself or use a pattern. Would love more info!

  4. cornbreadandbeansquilting says:

    Hi Linda!!

    That quilt is from the book Quilts in the tradition of Frank Lloyd Wright by Jackie Robinson. It was a very challenging quilt. I read some reviews on the book and others had a hard time making her patterns come together as well. I finally just had to redo all the math on my own and just used the pictures in the book as a guide. I would give you the book, but I gave it to the woman I made the quilt for in case she every wanted someone else to make her another one. Take care! Melissa

  5. Jennifer says:

    I was wondering when you’d be back online to blog! Been waiting to hear about your Summer! hehe Sounds like you guys had a fun packed Summer. Awesome – and with school starting back for you soon – let the sewing begin!! Our schools started back last week. Hope you get back into the Fall swing of things soon. Take care! Jennifer

Comments are closed.