Chatter

This past weekend I took a drive out to Mom and Dads.  Dad had all my wooden goodies all made up for me.   I’m so excited to get them painted/sanded/stained up! I will share some pictures when they are finished.  Mom and I decided to go check out a new-to-us quilt shop in South Lyon, Michigan called Lake Street Mercantile. It was featured a few issues back in Quilt Sampler magazine.  OH MY GOODNESS , was this shop AWESOME!

I was too busy shopping to take too many pictures but here are a few of the homespun and wool area:

We didn’t have much time to look as they were closing at 4 pm and we didn’t get there until 3 pm.  But we will definitely be back!  Then we hit another quilt shop about 15 minuets from there in Brighton, MI.  It wasn’t our favorite, but there we found out that there was a Shop Hop going on and the other shops in the area would be open until 7 pm.  BINGO!  So we shopped in 3 more shops.  FUN DAY!

Mom bought me this sign for my sewing room:

(oh and she bought me that ginormous clothes pin this summer too!  I use it to hold patterns while I am cutting.)

I bought mostly homespuns:

I have been up in my sewing room everyday.  I have been working on some new designs to submit to a new magazine coming out in April of 2011.

Have you heard about this magazine?

It looks pretty cool, huh?

 

So what have you been doing to get ready for Halloween fun?  I made up some “treat” bags for our teachers.

We will fill them with Halloween pencils, candy, etc.

They came out pretty bright and busy LOL you might need sunglasses to view:

Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

6 comments on “Chatter

  1. Kim says:

    What a cool shop! Sounds like you had a great day.

    I haven’t heard of that magazine — thanks so much for sharing. And good luck with your designs!

  2. Mary says:

    That does look like a fabulous quilt shop! Wow.

    Your new sign AND the clothespin are wonderful additions to your room.

    No, I had not heard of that magazine, but it sounds like it would be a fun one.

  3. Jennwith4 says:

    Love going to quilt shops! And where can I start getting that magazine?! Goodluck with you projects!

  4. Tammy says:

    oh the building alone that the first quilt shop was in – fabulous. sounds like you had a lot of fun and who doesn’t love a good quilt shop – shopping experience. Thanks for posting about the magazine, sounds like one I will want to get – esp if they feature you in it!!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Great looking shop and you found some great homespuns. I just found your site and have been going through old posts, I love how you have decorated your house – looks awesome!

  6. Sue says:

    Lake St. Mercantile is a wonderful quilt shop…I live about 20 minutes from it. They have a wonderful selection of reproduction fabrics and a knowledgeable staff. Definitely worth the trip! 🙂

Comments are closed.