Weekend Highlights

I had so much fun planning and preparing for our Wassail party on Friday.  Holiday Spirit was kicked up into high gear around here let me tell you.

Thursday evening I TRIED to put together my Williamsburg inspired table setting.  I had gathered fresh fruit, nuts, and real greens and was OH so excited…. it left a little to be desired after I had assembled it. Poor thing:

Next year I will get some floral foam and try to give it some height and structure.  But this did for this years attempt. It sure did smell good!

Then Friday morning I woke up and started making some Chocolate covered pretzels.

I had to put these candy canes out because they have my Dad’s name on them!

Look Dad you’re famous!

The BG and I each made our own pot of Wassail and had all the food out by 7:00. My awesome sister-in-law Andrea made the deserts.

And then I put my camera down and forgot to pick it up the rest of the night!! I was so sad when I realized I had been hosting so hard I forgot to take pictures of the Wassail or ANYONE DRINKING IT! LOL  I told you I need an assistant.

But we did have a great time and everyone loved the Wassail. There will definitely be a Second Annual Wassail party. =)

Saturday Morning we were up early to go pick up the Kids from Grandma Kathy’s.  It was put up the family tree day!

We went shopping so the girls could pick out this year’s ornament, then rushed home to put up the tree.

Poor ole tree, it might be time to invest in some better looking fake trees.  We ALMOST bought a real one this year for the girls , but I haven’t had a real tree since I was little and I really don’t know what to expect from one or how to take care of it without burning our house down! LOL I got a real wreath for the front door instead.

 


It was Patience’s turn to put the star on top!

Today we are supposed to experience a big snow storm and it is just as beautiful as it can be.

We are going to hunker down on the couch with all our leftover party food, enjoy our little girls excitement  about the magic of Christmas, and watch It’s a Wonderful Life (my Mom’s favorite.)

Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

6 comments on “Weekend Highlights

  1. Ronda says:

    Your table & centerpiece was beautiful! It sounds like a fun party. You’ve had quite the weekend, a evening of fun followed by a day of fun with the family.

  2. Tammy says:

    Looks like an amazing party with lots of good food and fun. And your family Christmas tree is so pretty, the girls did an awesome job. Enjoy your day in with the family – snow always makes the holidays more fun I think.

  3. Mary says:

    It sounds like it was a wonderful party. I always forget (or don’t have time) to get pictures too. Oh well….we still have the wonderful memories, don’t we? It all looked beautiful.

    The tree looks great all decorated. Bet the girls were thrilled to help.

    It’s a Wonderful Life is our Christmas favorite too. We have to watch that and Miracle on 34th Street as well as Bells of St. Mary during the advent season.

  4. LoriD says:

    I think your centerpiece turned out wonderful!! It’s a beautiful setting for a party and it sounds like a lot of fun!! Congratulations on your 1st annual wassail party!!

  5. boysmum2 says:

    The food looks amazing. I want those pretzels, they looked yummy.

  6. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    If I could take only one movie to a desert island that would be it … “It’s a Wonderful Life”. If you haven’t seen it RUN … do not walk …. RUN to the store and rent or buy it. LOVE THAT MOVIE!! Must watch it at least 5 times over the Holidays!

Comments are closed.