The trials of Job

Don’t you ever feel like Job? You know the dude that just had trial after trial?

I try not to be a big “drama-llama” but lately my life has felt a little like Job’s. My girls breaking my things, loosing my things, and causing general distress.  I will spare you the details, but suffice it to say we had a small disaster this past weekend.  Things are back on track now….but then THIS happened this morning.

So, I was going to blog this morning about a FAVORITE quilt that my Mom gave me on Thanksgiving.  It was a quilt I always wanted to make because I loved her’s SO much.   It’s a Whimsicals quilt from a long ago book Pastimes.

It’s called Tomato Patch

She bought all the fabric from a shop that is no longer around called “High Cotton Mercantile.”  Isn’t that just the yummiest name ever for a quilt shop?

Every time I went to her house I stared longingly at it.  On Thanksgiving I asked her if she would want to trade out some of her quilts for some of my quilts,  you know do a little rotating.  She asked me which quilt I wanted and she just GAVE it to me!

JOY JOY JOY!

I draped it over the back of a chair in the living room until I could find a spot for it after Christmas.  I wanted to share it this morning, so I grabbed it to take some photo’s and there was a HUGE tear in the side.  All the way through the binding and into the border.

I      WAS     SICK!  I wanted  to cry.

I knew one of the girls was using it to cover up with last night while watching T.V. so I immediately asked what they had done to it.  I couldn’t tell if it was a rip or a cut or what the heck. UGGG. I have never seen that happen to a quilt.

I should have taken a picture, but I was too upset and started to try and fix it right away.

I had some of the red fabric that is in it.  By some miracle Mom and given me the scraps from that quilt quite awhile ago.  So I knew the binding could be fixed.  I didn’t know what to do about the border.  Finally I just decided on doing a zig zag stitch over and over to try and join the ripped edges. I seam ripped out the binding about 14 inches, cut off the “ripped” portion and sewed new binding on.

You really can’t see it now unless you are looking for it.

Disaster number 10045 diverted.

Later Gators!

Not- being-a- Drama-Queen Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

4 comments on “The trials of Job

  1. Mary says:

    I can imagine the sinking feeling that you must have had. It looks good even in the pictures so I am sure the repair will never be noticed. It is a gorgeous quilt, Melissa.

    Have a wonderful Christmas.

  2. Carmen says:

    Hard thing to find, but you can look at it as being well on its way to becoming an antique! Your repair job is awesome so only you and the GIRLS will know. Maybe they will be so greatful that you fixed the problem that lots of chores will be completed with out nagging.

  3. Gayle says:

    whew! Good save! I can just imagine how sick you were when you saw that big tear! Hope life settles down to ‘normal’ with no drama for awhile!

  4. Asiyah says:

    omg…did you scream?!? I made a square in square quilt for my husband last Christmas and it has a big hole in it too! Can you believe he lets our dogs sleep on it? That’s the last time I make a lap-sized quilt, lol.

    Jokes aside, I’m so glad you were able to salvage it. I’ll be if you left it be for a couple of weeks, you wouldn’t be able to find the repair.

    Merry Christmas!

Comments are closed.