Christmas Love

Christmas was just AWESOME!

How about yours? It really is still Christmas ya know…all the way until the New Year.  You can just keep on celebrating if you want, I’ll join ya.

Christmas Eve we bundled up, made Hot Chocolate WITH wipped cream (coffee with Baileys for me, black for the BG) in big travel mugs, and walked all through the downtown festival of lights.

The idea was to tire out the kids a little so they could sleep well.

But I think it only served to get us all more riled up! opps

We all had the HARDEST time falling asleep so Santa could come. The last time The BG checked it was 4 am and Patience was STILL awake LOL.  I think we overdid the excitment factor this year.

But morning  finally DID come thank goodness!  We had a magical morning opening and playing with gifts.

The big one was a Wii.

OH and I got my wish!  A netbook! A cutie tootie netbook!

I couldn’t be more thrilled!  I can carry it anywhere and read blogs all over the house, even in bed! LOL

I am going to have to make myself a netbook bag!

Isn’t it pretty? I have been asking for one since summer.

Then it was time to head to The BG’s Mom’s house for dinner and fun!

It’s always CRAZY there.  Did I even mention that The BG has 8 brothers and sisters.  We have 25 nieces and nephews. That is A LOT of little kiddies opening presents all at once!

We invited a few of our nieces over for the night. I remember my cousins and I always asking if we could have sleep overs and keep playing durning the holidays.  It took all our extra quilts to make a HUGE 6 girl bed.  Here they are all snuggled in after a long Christmas day:Yesterday after making breakfast for all the girls and getting them all ready for Church we had a very relaxing day.  The girls really dug into their gifts, freeing the toys from all the packaging and playing Wii.

Today I decided to do a little sewing.  I choose to work on a quilt from my LONG wish list.  A Whimsicals pattern called Dashing Around from the book Mom and Me.  I’ve had the fabric and book for years, but I think this is the time to make it.  In fact I am thinking this coming year is going to be my year for making all the quilts from long ago that I wanted to make and never made time for.

Here are my blocks so far:

Oooh AND I received something exciting in the mail today too!

I one a little package of squares from Blackbird Designs. They are from the Antique Fair collection.  Delish!!

It will be fun making something up with those! Thank you Blackbird Designs!

The BG and the girls have the rest of the week off. I am looking forward to having everyone home and enjoying the rest of the holiday season.

We’ll have Christmas with my side of the family this weekend and I can’t wait to see them. I miss my Mommy and Daddy LOL

Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

5 comments on “Christmas Love

  1. Char says:

    Looks like you all had a wonderful Christmas. I love the netbook. I have one, it’s pink!
    Love the new quilt. I haven’t spent a minute in my sewing room until today,when I started to clean up the remnants of the Christmas gift frenzy!
    I hope to start some serious sewing this week.

  2. Mary says:

    It sounds like it was a wonderful Christmas. We continue our Christmas season until Epiphany on Jan 6th so although the busy part of Christmas is over, we get to enjoy the quiet and peace of the Christmas season now.

    Loved your picture of all the girls on their big sleepover bed. What fun!!!! There is nothing like a cousin sleepover.

  3. Amy C says:

    I bet the girls are loving that Wii. I’ve been tempted to buy one for myself. I love the commercial with the dance game.It looks addictive! I’m sure you will enjoy the netbook.

    Congrats on your win from Blackbird Designs!

  4. jackie says:

    Looks like you had a wonderful Christmas. Didn’t have a chance to comment a few posts back on your wool quilt, but you have inspired me. I have wool, lots of wool, I am going to clean up the extra room, get out the sewing machine and make a wool quilt. Thanks for the idea!!

  5. Kim says:

    Sounds like a wonderful Christmas! Especially loved the pictures of all the girls snuggled among the quilts — precious! Having lots of cousins is so fun!

Comments are closed.