What New Year Goals?

I almost said never mind with the New Year goals. I am pretty unmotivated to change. LOL

But I guess I should try and shoot for something new and improved right? Get in the spirit of the thing?  WOO HOOO (getting myself pumped up)

So my goals for the New Year

Personal goals:

To drink more water, play with my kids more, and give my husband more sex. LOL  Too much info??

Quilt related goals:

Quilt all the tops in my Tops Box (around 20 or so)

Make all the quilt tops I have bought fabric for/kits (for this I think I will join Kim for her 11 in 11)

Design at least 12 new quilts. ( I designed 6 since Sept so I think it’s doable ..we’ll see)

Try to get at least one pattern published in a quilt magazine.

Are these lofty goals? Probably …especially the one about giving my husband more sex.   But if I work on it daily maybe,  just maybe I can achieve!

Speaking of achieving I have been moving slow in the sewing department this week.  I had a sick kid home one day and I’ve have this crazy cold that is going backward.  Instead of feeling a little better everyday, I am feeling a little worse.  So I have been mostly laying on the couch taking advantage of the free Showtime our cable company is having this weekend.

The BG and I are way into the United States of Tara and Dexter…so it gives us a chance to get caught up on those.

Do you ever feel like you are spending a fortune on T.V.?  We have a pretty large cable package that has HBO, Stars, and Encore which is like 16 movies chanels right there….then we do Netflix, we buy movies On Demand, we run to the Red Box quite often….jessh.  So you would think when a free Showtime weekend came along it wouldn’t be that exciting.  Sign of the times. The 2000’s are so weird.

Anyway… here is where I am at with the Whimsicals quilt, I have the blocks all sewn, and the wool all glue basted on ready to sew.

I can’t decide whether I want to hand stitch or machine stitch the wool down, or just watch Dexter all day?? This week Dexter has won.

While I was picking out fabric for the Whimsicals quilt it dawned on me that I have been hording collecting whimsicals fabric a little bit.

Whimsicals (terry and her mom) was what really got me into quilting. I loved all their fabrics and their patterns.  I have some fabric by them that must be from their first lines. My “antique” whimsicals:

Do you recognize any of those old fabrics? I’ve never thrown away even the tiniest scrap of Whimsicals fabric.

Do you have a designer that inspired you to start quilting?  Do you have anyone you “collect?”

 

I went really low key with the Valentines decorating this year.  Just some heart quilts and one area of the dining room.

Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

10 comments on “What New Year Goals?

  1. Asiyah says:

    LOL! I am sooo with you on the sex front. There never seems to be enough time for everything/everybody!

    I never heard of the Whimsicals fabrics but love what you have. I’ll have to go check it out on their website!

  2. boysmum2 says:

    LOL, what an awesome post, not sure about the sex thing though, can you manage daily??
    The quilts are gorgeous and I wish life allowed me to quilt at present, but maybe my goal for this year is to try and work on creating my space for my creative corner, seeing as it has just been taken over by the kids computer, but then I can’t complain too much as their wardrobe has been taken over by all my stored sewing items!

  3. Amy C says:

    I think I spot some Choco-latte fabric in there. I have that line and Snow Wonderland. So cute! Unfortunately I have more than one favorite, not just one designer but several designers. My stash is definitely a reflection of this. Sigh!

  4. Jennwith4 says:

    Love your vday decor! Did you make the stuffed hearts?

  5. tami says:

    I have that array of books too! I love Whimsicals.
    Your quilt looks great. That one has been on my list for quite some time. Yours is a lot further along than mine. All I have done is collect the fabric. That’s the part I am the best at. I don’t have many of the Whimsicals fabrics. I really like the patterns better than the fabric. Kansas Troubles are my favorites and believe me I have quite a collection.

  6. Libby says:

    I have always loved that Whimsicals pattern . . . . may just have to pull the book out and give it a go.
    As for quilt design favorites, I feel like I’m always first in line for any new Brannock and Patek like of fabric that comes along and I just can’t stand to miss out on Cheri Payne’s patterns – both make me a VERY happy girl *s*

  7. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    Thank goodness we don’t have our husbands/partners vote on our New Year’s resolutions because on the sex one mine would have both hands and feet in the air to count as votes! Keep reminding him we’re not in our 20’s anymore!! LOL Love Whimsicals patterns and especially love that fabric in your stash with the sheep jumping around with what looks like flags in the background. VERY cool.

  8. Colleen says:

    Lol, love the goals… and I am a Whimsicals collector also. I have all those books too! But not all the fabrics… wish I did!

  9. Melanie says:

    Love the Whimsical books, fabric and quilt—-I have a thing about churn dash blocks. Great resolutions. I’m kind of keeping the spirit of contentment and project completion at the top of my list. Work keeps me busy, but I do love my quilt time….

  10. Cindy says:

    I love Whimsical books and have lots of their fabric too. Recently picked up a purse pattern of theirs that I want to make.
    Love your Valentine Decor!!
    ~Cindy~

Comments are closed.