x marks the spot!

Guess what I did today? Can you tell from the picture?

Yep! I took a cross stitch class.

I’m not really sure how that happened…last week one minute I was driving my car home, and the next minute I was pulling into “The Flying Stitch,” and the next I was signed up for a class! LOL seriously!

I have really been wanting an old framed sampler like the ones Barb and Alma do from Blackbird designs.  I wanted to BUY one not MAKE one. I thought I would just stop and “browse” I guess.

But here I am $45.00 and one class later and I am making one.

WOW it’s kinda hard on the ole’ eyes.  I think the ladies at the cross stitch store are probably making fun of me right now. They kept saying, “I wouldn’t start with that.”  I guess the linen I am sewing on is for “experts.” But it was so pretty!!  It’s all so old and yummy looking. It’s by Weeks Dye Works and they just make the coolest wools and floss!

You know…come to think of it that is what my Mom said to me when I picked out my first quilt to make…”I wouldn’t start with that.”  And guess what happened with that?

Here I will go down in my basement and get it …

 

(wow this blog post is getting really off track from where I was going)

Back, here’s a pic:

OMGosh! First of all see my dog sniffing it? It’s because it is so musty from sitting in attics and basements for about 10 years. Second..it’s not half as ugly as I thought it was.

And OH MY GOSH again!! there is hand quilting on the leaves!!!! No way I HAVE hand quilted something. That’s crazy.

I didn’t know a thing about making sure your colors contrasted a bit, obviously.  And I had no idea how to round the corners (in the border it is a “step” scallop) or how to do bias binding.  But you know what?  I am going to finish this baby!!

OKAY where was I?

You see way up there, back at the top? You see that half of an “A” I made…oh yeah I’m a cross stitching queen! LOL!!

We’ll see if it goes the way of my first quilt “the yellow monster.”

 

After I got home from the class, the new Hancock’s catalog was in the mail.

Drooooool

Anyone have a spare Million buckaroos for me?

Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

8 comments on “x marks the spot!

  1. Char says:

    I used to cross stitch all the time and then I started quilting and never looked back.

    I really like your first quilt, you should finish it, I think it has enough contrast.
    I got my catalog yesterday and spent last evening drolling as well.

  2. Asiyah says:

    Bwahahahaha! Seriously Melissa…this post made me laugh out loud. I checked out some books from the library on embroidery. Sometimes I don’t want my creativity to be tethered to an electrical cord, kwim?

    Anyway, I got my HOP catalog today. Yowza! It’s all so very tempting.

    Love the blog…but of course, you know that by know!

  3. Mary says:

    Personally, I think it was a good thing to start with linen. Yes, linen can be hard on the eyes; but your eyes will get used to it. If you find it’s too much of a strain, try stitching during daylight or using an Ott light.

    I think a linen piece will look great with your quilts and decorating!

  4. Mary says:

    I love the counted cross stitch, but I would not start on linen either. It is way to tough on the eyes. Once you get the feel for where the stitches go on the Aida cloth it would be easier on the linen.

    You have to finish that quilt!!! That is a great first quilt!!!!

    I got my catalog yesterday too and am still drooling as well.

  5. boysmum2 says:

    I love cross stitch too, have been doing it for well over 30 years. Talk about jumping in at the deep end, but knowing you from all the quilts I have seen you will survive.

  6. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    I love, love, love cross stitch and did it for years but when I hit 40 the eyes just didn’t have the stamina for it that they once did. I’ve done needlepoint which I still do and love but really do miss cross stitch. Maybe I’ll pull one of those unfinished projects back out and try again. Quilting is my needle addiction now … so enjoy it 😉 Like that quilt; you should finish it. The pooch is adorable, too!

  7. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    Forgot to add … I liked cross stitching samplers, too but really fell in love with the Mirabella patterns. Check these out sometime when you want a little “eye candy”. They use seed beads and metallic threads … GORGEOUS when completed. An addition to your heirloom collection: http://www.mirabilia.com/crossIndex2.html

  8. Libby says:

    Isn’t it funny how critical we are of our work. I have learned that it’s good to sometimes put things away and revisit later. We are so involved (and up close) that our eyes amplify every ‘perceived’ imperfection. I’m so glad you are taking a second look at that first quilt – it’s a treasure *s*

Comments are closed.