First 2011 finish

I stayed up late last night finishing up the Dashing Around quilt.

I had to clear my palette so to speak…get sewing room all cleaned up and ready for a fresh idea.  Feels good!

I went with machine stitching down the wool in the end. It turned out to be a bigger quilt than I had imagined it would. I had to bring it downstairs last night to lay it flat for a pic.

And OH MY GOSH what can of worms have I opened now?  I LOVE how the sampler is looking! Do I love doing it? Not so much…I would rather quilt, but it is relaxing.

I messed up on the capital “A” and “B” but I am not going to fix it. After capital B I started to get the hang of it. OH and I took my glasses off. Ahh…much easier to see.

Can anyone tell me what the thread count on Linen means?  For example between  40 count and 20 count, which has bigger holes or is less fine (or however you say what I am trying to ask LOL!!)

I am wondering because now I am dreaming of making some of these great things which I found here.

Okay back to stitching for me, I wanna get this baby done!

Later gators, Melissa

 

This entry was posted in Quilts.

12 comments on “First 2011 finish

  1. Diane Gill says:

    Melissa,

    The 40 count is much finer than the 20 count. To figure how large the piece will be divide the stitch count by 20 (for the 40 count) or by 10 (for the 20 count). If the piece says 45X 80, divide 45 by 20=2.25 and 80 by 20=4. I add 6 inches to each number if I am going to frame it or 3 to 4 inches if you are sewing a pillow or ornament.

    Personally, I like 28 or 30 count. It is much easier on the eyes and the piece will be large. The higher the number of linen, the smaller the piece will finish.

    I hope this answers your question.

  2. Tammy says:

    I think you did an awesome job, doesn’t look like you messed anything up to me. Your finished quilt is just beautiful – but you always do beautiful work no matter what you are working on in my opinion!!

  3. Ruth says:

    It’s the amount of thread per inch

  4. Char says:

    Love how the Sampler is coming along.

    It refers to threads per inch.

  5. Linda Clear says:

    Hey little girl!!! I finally can leave you messages cause Aunt Jud set me up with an e-mail. Love you!

  6. Sandra says:

    So pretty! I needlepoint, but have not much experience in cross stitch since I was young. Dabbled in it then, but it was on printed cloth, never counted.
    If you email me, I’ll try to forward a pattern for a pretty sampler to you…
    Keep up the great work!
    We get Christies and Sotheby’s catalogues and MADD ( Maine antique digest) and you would not believe the many, many thousands of dollars heirloom samplers go for! Wow!
    I love the old look of yours….just make lots for your two girls to cherish and their grandbsbies as tine goes by,,
    Xo

  7. boysmum2 says:

    I knew you would be fine with it, it is good luck to have a mistake in your cross stitch work. I don’t aim to have one but you always find them. It is looking great, always wanted to do a sampler myself, maybe one day.

  8. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    As mentioned, it refers to the threads per inch of cloth. I think you’re doing a marvelous job. You got a lot done. Samplers are just classic and easily become heirlooms in a family. Check out this website. My FAVORITE of all cross stitch patterns … Shepherd’s Bush (out of Utah). Enjoy! http://www.shepherdsbush.net/

  9. Melissa says:

    I LOVE your Dashing Around quilt!! The colors, the design – everything!
    Have enjoyed your blog for a while now. Great tutorials! : )

  10. Jennwith4 says:

    It’s looking so pretty!

  11. LoriD says:

    Graet job on the Dashing Around quilt. It is lovely!!
    I tried cross stitching last winter and realized my eyes aren’t good enough to be accurate. I sure love the old fashioned looking ones. Yours is terrific!

  12. Mary says:

    The quilt is gorgeous; I love this pattern.

    As far as the cross stitch, sounds like you’ve got the bug! You won’t see the mistakes once this piece is finished, and you aren’t comparing it to the pattern. I look at samplers I’ve made and often think ‘now what the heck was wrong with this when I made it.’ You’re one of us now!

Comments are closed.