AADD

Well I know I have it,  do you?  I have AADD Art Attention Deficient Disorder.

It seems I can’t pick a craft and stick with it lately. I honestly have all these extraneous projects that I have picked up through the years, or I fall in love with something new,  and I feel like if I can just finish them all in a day that I can get on with quilting. Insane I know.

I invite you into my little chaotic world for a glimpse.

Last week I decided I was going to use all the little tid bits of Antique Fair left over from making the “stitched in cloth” pattern.

These were the corners cut off from making the half square triangles.

So I made a little pillow out of them, bordering the HST with a little Madeira (from Black Bird Designs)  I had lying around in my stash.

I still have more 2 1/2 inch squares of Antique Fair that I am going to make another pillow out of.  Then I think I will have used up every piece.

A week or two ago I was in Michael’s and saw the coolest jewelry bits called Industrial Chic by an artist named Susan Lenart Kazmer .  I became OBSESSED. I had to make a necklace out of them. Do I know how to make jewelry?? NOOooo. Is that going to stop me from trying? Nooooo.

Here’s what I came up with for my first try, I’m collecting more to give it another go.

“M” for Melissa  or Mom or ” Moooommmm she’s hitting me.”

My lucky number 7 and a measuring tape for quilting! =)

It was oh so fun collecting those charms!

I’ve also been busy stitching some spring goodies the two on the left are freebies from Primitive Betty’s and the one on the right I am charting as I go.

I will be happy to share my little spring cross stitch.  When I get it done I will post the chart for you.

I made a little stop at the Flying Stitch the other day and picked up some more cross stitch goodies! I am seriously addicted to linen now. Aren’t they gorgeous?  And the NAMES on the floss just invoke the best pictures in my head… toasted barley, aged pewter, parchment, tarnished gold…sounds like a really great booth at your favorite antique shop!  So we’ll see what comes out of my head to make with these new pretties!

I have been plugging away on my  locker hooked rug in the evenings.  I have had the canvas and locker hooking needle for this project for about 4 or 5 years I think.  I finally started it because I think it might take another 5 to 10 years to finish.  It takes an amazing amount of fabric. I bet I already have 5 yards of scraps used in it so far. I’m going to start using other colors after another row of two of browns and blacks.

Oh I’m not done driving myself crazy yet! LOL  I also decided in the middle of the day the other day to start punching an easter pattern by With Thy Needle and Thread.  I’m thinking I might be able to talk the BG into finishing it for me!! He’s pretty good at it.

I also pieced two quilts for Quilt N Go last week!

How’s your AADD treating you?

6 comments on “AADD

  1. Shazy says:

    Love reading your blog-soooo inspirational!

    Glad to see someone like me who ‘craft hops’-I drive myself CRAZY starting new projects!

    I’m loving all your projects and your pillow turned out just beautiful-you are very talented:)

    There’s an idea now! I wonder which craft hubs could do, ’til I get something finished!!!

    Shazy x

  2. Char says:

    Oh my you’ve been busy. Love the pillow and the necklace is wonderful!
    I’m trying to keep up with quilting, crochet and a little embroidery.

  3. Sue says:

    Oh trust me, my AADD is treating me just about the same. But no worries, I hear we’re not the only ones who have it! LOL

    I love that jewelry piece of yours! That is to die for! I’m gonna have to check that out.

    I am in love with linen as well…just ordered a bunch more the other day 😀 😀 😀

    Try and stay focused (this is like the pot calling the kettle black!), we all love everything you put out there!!

    Hugs!

  4. Sherry says:

    Well I’m glad to see ‘m not the only one that has This problem that you call AADD. Should I go see my DOC. What do you think. LOL

  5. Linda Clear says:

    Once again I am amazed by all you do! I think you should also have said that you know how to decorate ( hint, hint…..I need help in my sewing area) !

  6. Anita says:

    You have a pretty neat blog going on here! Love all the crafting you are doing. Please stop in to visit mine soon.

Comments are closed.