Dog days of summer

 

Even as our beautiful summer days are winding down, I find myself unable to embrace the signs of impending autumn this year.

If you have been a reader of my blog for awhile then you KNOW I love fall, it’s always been my favorite season!  Our home is usually  decorated with all the splendid colors and shapes of autumn by now.

But for some reason I cannot let go of summer. AT ALL.

I want to keep camping.

I want to keep swimming.

I want to keep my kids home (this makes me KNOW I’m crazy LOL)

I want to keep sleeping in and having lazy days reading.

I’m sure I will enjoy all that autumn has to offer:  School clothes shopping, apple orcharding, football watching, digging out sweaters, leaf touring, trick-o-treating.

As it stands now I am very reluctant to trade in my flip flops and tank tops for sweaters and boots.

I know I have been VERY bad at answering comments and emails, but I will be better once the kids are back to school and it’s too cold outside to do anything but inside activities.

I’ll be back later next week to share my new sewing room, I have been working on it for 3 days!!!! Man did I have a mess.

Hope you are enjoying your last few weeks of sweet sweet summer!

This entry was posted in Quilts.

One comment on “Dog days of summer

  1. Sue says:

    Melissa. You’re not the only one having a hard time embracing Autumn. I am too. And it is my favorite season as well. I always look forward to the autumn days where we can put on a sweater again and chill by the wood burning stove. But I too, am having a hard time. I don’t know why that is either. This summer has been so hot that you’d think I would look forward to fall. I just don’t know. Like you, I am sure that will change once it hits.

    Anyway, I can’t wait to see your new sewing room. I’ve been cleaning and organizing and refolding my fabrics trying to get some sewing mo-jo back. I am looking forward to quilting again. That’s been put on the back burner most of the summer.

    Enjoy the final days of summer and every precious moment you can with your sweet daughters 🙂

    Hugs and blessings,
    Sue

Comments are closed.