a good life

After I mentioned that I was tired Friday night, a female acquaintance of ours that works outside the home  asked me,  ” what did you do all day?”

I thought about it.  Was this a trick question? It sounded somewhat accusatory.

  Should I mention the dishes, the homework helping, the laundry, the constant picking up shoes and papers and toys, the food preparation, the kid question answering (that wears me out the most)

the note signing, the bill paying, the doctor and dentist visiting, the running to and fro kid activities?

No, I don’t think I should mention those things because she has to do them too, AND she has to go to outside work on top of that.

Then I realized what I really HAD done that day was sew, and  go antique shopping with my Mom while the kids were at school.

So I said unabashedly, ” I went shopping.”

Which of course was groan inducing on everyone’s part but my own.

But ya know … it’s true I do have a good life.

So instead of feeling guilty about it, I decided to feel grateful.  Because being grateful is a much better feeling. LOL

I’m so very grateful for my good life.  We’re not rich, but we have what we need and my kids will never wonder where I am.

I’m right here waiting for them when they get home everyday with hugs and kisses, and that’s the best job I’ve ever had!


So what’s been going on in my good life?

Making lots of these:

We only have a few apples left from our orchard trip…probably 2 more pies worth.

Mom brought some mini quilts she made to show me on our sewing day Friday, aren’t they cute?

Here’s our awesome loot from the antique store:

I love those wooden boxes with leather handles, we each had to get one.

Mom found this great box of vintage Clark thread….the wooden spools were never used. What a great find!

She also found this adorable wooden baby shoe form.

Check out my vintage sewing notions, zinc lids for pincushions, and new aqua shelf ! I also found a good deal on some wooden shoe stretchers.

After some serious shopping we got down to business sewing our little bird pincushion (pattern by Renee Plains)

I didn’t get a picture of Mom’s, but here is how mine turned out.

That is a blackbird designs x-stitch I made last week behind my new birdie bottle.

I’ve been collecting vintage sewing notions lately, and had a great score at our local Bible Thrift last week.

I put them in here for now until I get enough to make a BIG JAR.

I’ve also been sewing up some new quilt designs.  But I am saving them to submit.

I haven’t forgotten my 2011 new year goal to try and get a pattern published in a magazine.

I had a dream the other day that I accomplished that goal and I woke up feeling so good.  To bad it was just a dream….sigh.

I’m on the hard part, which is writing out the instructions.

I’ll leave you with some parting shots of my girlies.

Patience with her Native American project for school.  She even helped to grow the corn in the community garden.  You go girl!

Here’s Minate.  She and I went on a field trip with her class to Pioneer Cabin.  It was really a fun day.

We made apple sauce, and stew from scratch with “Ma and Pa.”  The kids made candles and chopped wood and learned how pioneers lived.

Here’s Ma and Pa greeting us at the log cabin:

Chopping the stew veggies:

Making cornbread:

Eating our stew:

Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

8 comments on “a good life

  1. Sandra Henderson says:

    You have your priorities in order. You are very fortunate that you can stay home and should not feel guilty for one minute. Everyone’s situation is different and unique. Some work all week and then go out to eat all the time, which is very expensive, and do lots of other outside the home entertainment things. I think, the more one makes, the more they spend in MOST cases, but not all. It’s just all about saving money here, to do this or make up for that. Some people who work have a house keeper. I just think that it’s all relative and one should never feel guilty for the choice they make to stay home if they have the support of their husband to do this. While you baked a pie, others would stop by a bakery and pay 15.00 or more for one. You make up for your lost salary , I”m sure. 🙂
    You’ll never get these years back.
    Plus, I think you will eventually get an at home business established. I’ve felt this all along as I”ve watched your blog. No doubt. Keep pecking along and don’t let anyone steal your joy. Most importantly, don’t allow yourself to doubt yourself or allow evil to creep in by feeling guilty.
    Love all of your creations and that was a FUN day!!!!

  2. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    Sandra’s right … do not let anyone steal the joy you have in what you do. I work full-time (have all my teen and adult life) but my husband and I were not blessed with children or that would have been different. In my opinion we are unique because we are “homebodies” and do not go out to dinner often or take many vacations that cost a lot of $$. We’ve saved and economized so that our golden years will be a little more comfortable. I do not judge any home where both parents work from necessity (putting food on the table and providing a safe shelter for children is a daunting challenge these days). What I do not understand is the PREFERENCE of some parents to work rather than stay home and raise their children … THAT is the hard work … not sitting in an office or traveling or making reservations for dinner. I came home to my mother and grandmother being in the kitchen each day and there was always a light on in the house when we arrived. We had a great childhood, not blessed with lots of material things but rich in memories. My hat is off to you Melissa for what you do each and every day. God bless!

  3. Linda Clear says:

    Sandra and Linda are so right! Bless their hearts for their touching comments…..you have nothing to feel bad or guilty about! Hey, you left out one important chore…..entertaining your Mom!

  4. Brenda says:

    So wonderful for you to be home for your children. You can be tired also it is so ok. I had to work because I became a single mother when my youngest was 9 months old. I had been home for around a year and was enjoying it so much. Taking the older girls to school and going on field trips. I have one daughter that has 4 boys that stays home with them and one with 2 girls that works outside of her home. They are both just as tired at the end of the day. Love your finds and the bird it so cute. How awesome to get to sew with your mother.

  5. Roberta says:

    Great post and photos to go along! Yes, our hearts need more gratitude. Thank you for the reminder! ps I love all of those little old treasures..

  6. Sue says:

    This is such a great post. I like your attitude in that you are grateful for the good life you do have. I have been a homemaker all of my life and have not felt the least bit guilty of it because I knew it was the calling God had for MY life. Everyone else has a different story. My kids are adults now and I’m still a stay at home wife and still not guilty about it one bit! I too, am very grateful for the good life that I have. And when my hubby comes home at the end of the day…well there’s my smiling face waiting for him 😉

    An excellent wife, who can find?
    For her worth is far above jewels.
    The heart of her husband trusts in her,
    and he will have no lack of gain.
    She does him good and not evil
    All the days of her life.
    She looks for wool and flax
    And works with her hands in delight.
    She is like merchant ships;
    She brings her food from afar.
    She rises also while it is still night
    And gives food to her household
    And portions to her maidens.
    She considers a field and buys it;
    From her earnings she plants a vineyard.
    She girds herself with strength
    And makes her arms strong.
    She senses that her gain is good;
    Her lamp does not go out at night.
    She stretches out her hands to the distaff,
    And her hands grasp the spindle.
    She extends her hand to the poor,
    And she stretches out her hands to the needy.
    She is not afraid of the snow for her household,
    For all her household are clothed with scarlet.
    She makes coverings for herself;
    Her clothing is fine linen and purple.
    Her husband is known in he gates,
    When he sits among the elders of the land.
    She makes linen garments and sells them,
    And supplies belts to the tradesmen.
    Strength and dignity are her clothing,
    And she smiles at the future.
    She opens her mouth in wisdom,
    And the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.
    She looks well to the ways of her household,
    And does not eat the bread of idleness.
    Her children rise up and bless her;
    Her husband also, and he praises her, saying:
    “Many daughters have done nobly,
    But you excel them all.”
    Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain,
    But a woman who fears the Lord,
    She shall be praised.
    Give her the product of her hands,
    And let her works praise her in the gates.

    Proverbs 31:10-31

  7. Tammy says:

    Don’t let anyone make you feel less or bad about staying at home. The most important thing you do each day is be there for your girls when they get home from school. Or to be there for them when they are sick, or during the summer. You’re doing a great job and that’s all that matters. Love your antique finds and all the great pictures you shared. You inspire me with all the things and crafts you do and how you involve the girls in it as well.

  8. Amy C says:

    I’m glad for you too! Your girls are growing up. I think I’d like to visit the Pioneer Cabin. That looked like a pretty cool field trip.

Comments are closed.