Pin-spiration (with a learning curve)

I was looking for a few ideas for Christmas pillows and ran across just the thing on Pinterest.

Here was my inspiration photo:

Mine didn’t turn out quite so cute, but they will do for now.

Leaning Curve:

1. I used a t-shirt transfer copy paper to do the letters, which doesn’t look so hot if you ask me.

Next time I will not try to save time, and just use the whole paint/stencil method.  I think it would turn out so much better.

2. Also I used osnaburg  instead of burlap, because I think burlap would be kind of scratchy, and we really use our pillows.

But the burlap does just give it that something doesn’t it?  So maybe next time burlap.

3. I made homespun background pillows which are okay, but if I could have that cool sweater pillow from the inspiration photo I would be thrilled! =)

All in all, I still think they turned out kinda Christmas-y Fun!

Later Gators,

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

7 comments on “Pin-spiration (with a learning curve)

  1. Sandra Henderson says:

    I’d use some old holey sweaters (be on the lookout) and make the sweater pillows too. They even leave the buttons on them. I use this paper that is really fabric for printing on it directly.
    You rinse it in RETAYNE and you’re done. LOOKS GREAT!~
    re. the burlap, I put some burlap brush fringe on some seat cusions for a breakfast table for a designer once. Did not understand it, as it was very scratchy. Must be they were not going to use it? It makes a mess too. No, I think you are just missing more red. Maybe a red throw,etc. They look great!

  2. Sandra Henderson says:

    http://www.cjenkinscompany.com/Miracle_Fabric_Sheets_s/1.htm

    C. Jenkins Co. ROCKS! 🙂

    I use it for putting photos onto fabric and then making quilts or pillows, but it’s like copy paper, but you peel off the back when done and it’s fabric. You could tea stain it or do whatever you want with it. I then use the retayne to rinse. A bottle lasts FOREVER, only a capful. I use it for reds,etc , nothing has ever run.

  3. Julie Murphy says:

    I would head on down to your local Goodwill or thrift store and buy a sweater to make the pillow. Wash in hotwater before, of course! I would think you could make one for a few dollars.
    Julie

  4. Leeanne says:

    Your cushions look fabulous.

  5. Brenda says:

    I like how it turned out. I love homespun. You can still add a sweater pillow, I would think the red sweaters would be coming out in droves at goodwill now.

  6. Sue says:

    I think yours turned out great, Melissa. Don’t ya just love Pinterest? I have a hard time staying away from all that inspiration!!

  7. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    You’re too hard on yourself … I think they look great. As Sandra said … a small punch of red might be what it needs but it’s very cool. Good for you for being so creative. I visit my local Goodwill ALL the time looking for 100% cotton men’s plaid shirts. Stashing to make a cool quilt from the fabrics (make sure they’re GOOD quality 100% cottons). They have TONS of sweaters that could be used to make pillows. Yes, washing first in hot water would be a good idea ~ so many resources at our fingertips!

Comments are closed.