Festive Times!

We had an awesome Thanksgiving meal provided by the loving hands of our extended family this year.

My contribution was 4 pumpkin pies, 1 cherry pie, 1 cherry cheesecake, and 1 coconut cream pie, and one very sore burn on my wrist.

I burn myself in the same spot on my wrist every year baking pies…jeesh.

We tried something new and held the feast at my Uncle Mike’s employee room.

Wow, there were so many cool things to do there,  video games, pinball machines, Wii, pool, huge T.V. … it was really lovely and the kids had a blast.

It has become tradition for The BG and I,  and my brother and his wife to do some Christmas shopping on this weekend

while we are all staying at Mom and Dad’s house and they can watch our kids.

I noticed this year that people feel VERY strongly about the early store openings and Black Friday in general.

I’m expecting bumper stickers, and a “occupy” movement to crop up. LOL

It HAS gotten a little earlier each year.  Last year we went to Toys R Us at midnight, this year we got in line a 8:30pm.

Crazy you say?  Maybe, but we do have so much fun catching up with eachother in line without our kids needing us.

I noticed that people were very festive and laid back where I was, but I heard there were some looney pepper spray incidents out there.

Hope you all were safe and full this weekend =)

Crossing off toys on my children’s Christmas Lists got me thinking about the toys that I loved and received when I was a little one.

Did you have any of these?

Oh my beloved Fashion Plates!  The Little Professor, Speak and Spell, and Spirograph,  I think we got a new Spirograph almost every year.

One thing we were guaranteed to get every year was a new book or two (Thanks Mom!)

But when I got this, I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

I can’t remember what my record player really looked like but I know it was in a box like this one:

And lots of these:

I have VERY fond memories of listening for hours  and hours to my Book and Record books.  I still remember the songs!

The only toy I still have from those long ago Christmases is a stuffed dog I got when I was about 7.  He was my “early” present.

Mom or Dad (not sure which but I would guess it was my Dad because he can never wait)  would let us open a

present on Christmas Eve.

Dog has had many surgeries to sew him back up, but I still love him so.

Stop back by later in the week for a Christmas present to YOU!

I have been working on writing a little pattern for a cute table runner as my gift to you.

Here is a sneak peek of the runner…..

This entry was posted in Quilts.

8 comments on “Festive Times!

  1. Leeanne says:

    happy days to you! Looks like a lot of fun.
    Cute sneaky peaky!

  2. Mary says:

    It looks like it was a wonderful Thanksgiving for you. I like your shopping “tradition.” I try to avoid those crowded shopping days. That mace incident was out here by us. Stupid move!!!

  3. Sue says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful time. We did too. I went Black Friday shopping for the first time in my life! And I’m about to turn 50! HA!! It was fun and I thought the folks in our area were very orderly. I didn’t buy anything on sale either! I guess that makes me a terrible Black Friday shopper 😀

    I had a red and white checked record player and I wish like anything I still had it. I wish I had my multitudes of 45s too. Such good memories.

    This is a great time of year and I’m about done Christmas shopping. Now it’s time to sit back and people watch. My favorite thing to do 😀 😀 😀

    Blessings,
    Sue

  4. Carol Campbell says:

    I kept my son’s Little Professor and am so glad I did. My grandson (his son, 1st grade) LOVES it and is very mathematically inclined. It works like a champ!

  5. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    What a fabulous place for a family gathering. Glad you were all able to be together! We don’t exchange gifts anymore … kids are all grown; people can buy what they need. Our holidays revolve around family gathering, games, Mass, food and just being together. It was a little “hard” at first because you’re so used to shopping, wrapping and exchanging … and if there were young kids in our family we would still do it … but as they’ve moved through college and into adulthood it just seems to work better for us.

  6. Roberta says:

    I have a stuffed dog too..but he is way older than yours..lol! I looks like you had a wonderful time with family.. (:

  7. Kitty says:

    Looks like you guys had a great time on TG!! wonderful!

  8. Sue in MI says:

    I still have my son’s Little Professor, Speak & Spell, Speak & Read and Speak & Math! I will have to send them to him and he can share them with his son.

Comments are closed.