Hunting and Gathering

Mom and I spent a VERY productive day last week hunting and gathering vintage sewing supplies from our favorite antique spots.

Mom got so good at spotting old sock darners that she was even opening anything that looked like it could be a sewing basket and finding them!

We both have a nice little collection started.

I am so in love with these treasures of the past.  I love to imagine hard working hands using these precious tools.

I found some more little treasures to make pincushions and trinket boxes with and will be listing them soon!

Mom told me that she read in one of her magazines that vintage sewing items are a hot collectible this year!! OH NO.

So we figured we better start getting them before the rich collectors do.  Us poor folk like collecting to ya know! LOL

Have a wonderful day, Later Gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

5 comments on “Hunting and Gathering

  1. Lizzie says:

    Curious about the tins you have piled in the image. Are they sewing related? If so what are they? Love your blog and look at it often!

  2. Karin says:

    You sure had me smiling!! Sounds like you girls had good fun! Love from Sunny South Africa

  3. Jeanne M. Wallace says:

    Love your site, OH those pans are Bunt Pans for cakes and man some of those cakes that can be made using these are GREAT and so GOOOOOOOOOOD! oh my got carried away, one day soon I will look all through your site would love to read all you have to say and have done,,you take care and thanks for the memories, HUGS Jeanne xox

  4. Looks like a fun day. I love finding vintage treasures.

    You have been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award. Read my post for today if you’d like to participate in the fun!

  5. Brenda says:

    I finally posted a pic of the cutting table that hubs built me using a picture of yours that I pinned for inspiration. Hope you can come over for a visit and see how it turned out. Thanks for all your inspiration!
    http://brtowsleyblogs.blogspot.com/2012/03/putting-things-back-where-they-belong.html

Comments are closed.