We’re Under Contract!

We’ve finally settled on a home, and we think it was worth the wait.

She’s a fine old historic house right in our neighborhood.

The contract is signed, our inspections have been done, now we’re just waiting on the bank and we’ll be moving!!!!

I was sure to take some “before” photos while we were having the electrical inspection.

Here she is:

We’ll be changing out some of the paint colors, light fixtures,  and getting a little electrical work done first thing.  There is still old knob and tube wiring up in the attic, which isn’t safe.

But other than that she’s move in ready.

We’ll have to update the kitchen and upstairs bathroom as we go along.  They are VERY vintage.  I keep joking that the oven looks like it should be in a museum, and NOT in a good way.

And the upstairs bath is covered in pinky/peach tile. Also NOT in a good way.

While I was window shopping one day last week I saw the most awesome retro table and chairs.

I fell in love!!

I kept thinking how cool they would look in our new kitchen in a retro/farmhouse style kind of way.

Think this pinterest pic but with glass windows in the upper cabinets:

Or this cute breakfast nook from pinterest:

I hemmed and a hawed, I perseverated and obsessed.  It was such a good deal $120.00 for the chairs and table.

Now we do need a new couch and two new beds for the girls for the new house, so we’re trying not to spend money before we move, but as usually happens I wore the old man down.

Here’s my new little breakfast nook set that I plunked down in the living room for now:

Love it!

Well enjoy your weekend friends! I think I’ll start packing and stay away from antique shops! =)~

Later gators,

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

15 comments on “We’re Under Contract!

  1. Debi says:

    I’m jealous – LOVE the house – what fun it will be to decorate 🙂

  2. Sue says:

    Wow! Melissa! It’s a gorgeous home! I’d say it was worth the wait. I am so happy for you and it’s so nice to see your post! I just love those hardwood floors!!

    Blessings to you on your move!

  3. Colleen Baker says:

    What a gorgeous house!!! She’s a beauty 🙂 Love the retro set also!!

  4. Michelle says:

    That is so exciting, I love the house! What fun you are going to have setting up :O)

  5. Sue in MI says:

    Congrats! It’s a beauty!!! Can hardly wait to see what you do in it.

  6. Tammy says:

    Congratulation, you new home looks beautiful and I’m sure with your talents you’ll have it fixed up and adorable in no time!!

  7. Karen Beigh says:

    I can’t do stairs any more with my knee replacements but oh how I love this house!

  8. Leeanne says:

    You are so lucky we just don’t see homes like that here in New Zealand!

  9. kitty says:

    WOW~~~ what a gorgeous home! The outside and inside are so beautiful! Love your retro table you got, it’s going to look wonderful in your kitchen!

  10. Darlynn says:

    Melissa, been following you for a while, but no comments until now….CONGRATULATIONS!!!! May this home hold wonderful memories for you and your family.

  11. diane says:

    just beautiful!

  12. Kathy Foster says:

    Beautiful!!! This looks just like you!!!!! Can’t wait to see what you do with it!!!!!

  13. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    VERY cool house … looks like one you’d love 😉 Windows in the front door are really interesting … that’s the great thing about vintage houses. Sold our place in Pittsburgh in a week and we’ll be moving to Traverse City shortly … I’ll wave from the U-Haul as we sail by 😉

  14. Sandra Henderson says:

    I am so happy for you and your family! This is a beautiful home. You will be very happy there. I can’t wait to see what you do with it… and your sewing room! 🙂 Nice that you don’t have far to move too. The girls can keep their neighborhood friends,etc. also. You have such a sweet life. Each of your posts just warms my heart. XO

  15. Nancy says:

    Ohhhh, I am jealous of that beautiful home that is going to be yours. It is just lovely and love the little breakfast nook set you found. It is in such awesome condition!! I wanted a retro set for the porch; but hubby didn’t think he did. He won out and we got wood, nice but I am a little disappointed. Am looking forward to more pics as things move along.

Comments are closed.