Doll Bed, shop update and a giveaway!

We had a productive long weekend around here! Well, no house cleaning got done, but I find it is easier for me to clean when the kiddos and the hub’s are all busily away at their day jobs! =)

The BG helped me build a little doll bed! I cut all the pieces on my little miter saw, and he routed out some places for the slats and put it together for me.

photo

(nice bed head hubby!!! LOL)

He even drilled some holes for me to string the twine, for the rope bed look.

cornbread and beans

I white washed it, then added a little stain. The mattress was quickly sewn up and rag stuffed for a nice lumpy old look, and of course there had to be a pillow!

Etsy CandBeans 007

That was the precise moment I realized I didn’t make enough head board slats to support the pillow!!! Silly me.

But it’s pretty cute so I’m keeping it! LOL

Etsy CandBeans 015

I also got a shop update all finished up! Some pin-ies and some little quilts

Etsy CandBeans 043

I recently reached 400 posts on this little ole blog of mine. I can’t believe I’d find 400 things to say!Β  You know all of us bloggers could right novels if we can find that much to write about! (giggle)

So in celebration and to thank you for coming to read my blabbering I thought I would give away a little kit for a small tumbler quilt top ( no backing or binding included, you will need to provide those to complete your top.)

PicMonkey Collage

Just leave me a comment here before Friday Jan 25 and I’ll pick a random winner!

I do so appreciate everyone who stops by to read what’s happening around here.

Later gators!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

42 comments on “Doll Bed, shop update and a giveaway!

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I enjoy your blog and am searching for a tumbler ruler to make a small quilt. perfect match! Lizzie

  2. Colleen says:

    Lol I love reading your chats, Melissa :o) Very cute little tumbler quilt and would love a chance to win!

  3. Kathy Foster says:

    Hi, MIssy – I love the little doll bed, and I love that you strung it to make it look authentic… And I would love a chance to win the little tumbler quilt kit -It’s darling! Have a good day…

  4. Jeanne Farmer says:

    I enjoy reading your blogs…. cutest doll bed….

  5. Brenda says:

    I love the tumbler quilt and the doll bed.

  6. I love your doll bed – and that you and hubby just whipped it up over the weekend! Been wanting to make a little tumbler quilt, and I own a template, but that is as far as it’s gotten! Thanks for the chance to win.

  7. Heartsdesire says:

    Thanks for the lovely giveaway. I’ve always wanted to make a tumbler quilt but felt it might be a bit to much to cut out all those pieces. Your little tumbler quilt kit would be a fabulous win.

  8. DianeH says:

    Your doll bed is adorable with the little quilt. Wonderful project. I’ve put a tumbler quilt high on my to-do list since seeing yours. Thanks for a chance.

  9. Betty Lou says:

    l am impressed with your woodworking skills, way to go, and the little tumbler quilt is perfect.

  10. Judy Hansen says:

    I had a thought about the headboard – could you make a “tie on” quilted thingy that would be like a baby bed bumper that would be rectangle shaped and have ties at the four corners to attach it to the headboard? Hopefully you get the picture of what I’m trying to say…. and I would love to win the little doll quilt kit. I’ve never made a tumbler one before!
    Judy

  11. Charlotte S says:

    Love the doll bed. I am hunting for one also but have not found the right one at the right price. I will keep searching. Your little quilts are sew cute.

    Charlotte S.

  12. Peggy Butts says:

    I love the little doll bed. I enjoy reading your blog. The first time I got on it, I thought boy she looks so familiar. Turns out, I had met you at Quilt n Go when you were working there one Sat. My husband had commented on your beautiful eyes!! And yes, they are beautiful!!
    I would love a chance to win your tumbler kit. Congrats on 400 posts!!

  13. I absolutely love that bed!!!!! (Your husband looks like mine πŸ™‚ ! ) I’ve always wanted to make a mini quilt, even have some books but haven’t ventured into it yet. (Maybe I need a doll bed first!) Thanks for the opportunity to win the tumbler quilt.

    Lucy

  14. Linda says:

    HI! LOVE THIS LITTLE QUILT!
    THANKS SO FOR SHARING !

  15. Sue says:

    That is the sweetest little bed and you did a great job on it. You are so creative! Love the bedding you’ve made for it too. It’s just so sweet!

  16. Tammy says:

    Your little bed is adorable and congratulations on 400 posts, I wonder how many I’ve written – I must check that out. Hugs!!

  17. Dee Bahr says:

    So nice any little girl could play for hours.

  18. Sandra Henderson says:

    My brother use to sleep on an antique rope bed . I don’t know how he did it, but he did . lol
    He still has it. I LOVE your doll bed! You should make them and sell them. Love your quilts too.

  19. Cindy says:

    Love reading your blog and looking at all your little quilts. I have a tumbler template, but I haven’t made a quilt with it yet.

  20. Wendy says:

    OOooo love your little bed and quilt! I would love to win your kit…please count me in.

  21. Sherrilouise says:

    I absolutely love the doll bed! The inner child in me is so jealous! And the little bed is just way to cute.

  22. Margaret says:

    Such a lovely little bed and the quilt goes with it beautifully. My husband and I sleep in a bed that he made himself and I treasure it! There’s something about a hand made item that speaks to all of us I think.

  23. Gaile schriber says:

    I love the doll bed.You are so lucky to have a hubby who can build items. I My husband is a Pastor and less his heart wood working is not in list of gifts. I would love the chance to win the tumbler quilt as I have always wanted one. Your quilt is beautiful!

  24. Gayle says:

    Wow Melissa – You & your hubby did a great job on the little bed & quilt. I
    can’t wait for a grand daughter so I can make one similar. I got my Primitive
    Quilts magazine in the mail today and your project is so delightful – congrats
    on being published! Would love to win your little kit!

  25. Karen says:

    That is a precious doll quilt and bed. You are so nice to share it with us all in blog land.

  26. Connie says:

    Love the Doll bed. Awesome job and the pin keep in your hand I love it. Do you sell the pattern on that one?? Love your Love your blog too.

  27. Nancy says:

    That is a great little bed for that tumbler quilt!! I so much enjoy your blog…..the quilts, the primitive things, and was great to see all the pictures you posted of Christmas decor.
    I have wanted to do a tumbler quilt, but haven’t yet. So many things waiting for me to try in the quilting world and minis are on my list of to-do’s. Would love to be the owner of that little quilt kit you are giving away!!
    Congratulations on 400 posts…that is great.

  28. Ann Hudson says:

    Always enjoy your updates, especially when they include dollie stuff! The bed is fab & so is your hub’s for making it! Love your new quiltlets, so cute! I get lots of “Did you make that pincushion?! I love it!” whenever folks visit and spy your PC’s I’ve purchased, I do confess though and tell them who the real maker is, not me by a long shot! Best to you on your 400th post & here’s to many many more!
    Ani in Wilmington, NC >^..^<

  29. Rose Hunter says:

    Love your blog and seeing what you have done with your new home. You did a great job with the doll bed. A tumbler quilt is on my list of things I want to do. Thanks for thinking of all of us with your give-away.

  30. Joann says:

    I so enjoy reading your post, we do have a lot in common on what we like. The little kit would be great fun to make, so keeping my fingers crossed. Thank you.

  31. Kendra says:

    I love the doll bed and reading your blog!

  32. Have you thought about making the little beds to sell? I would love to have one and have also been searching for just the right one. Good job!

  33. jill Froelich says:

    That is such a cute quilt! Love the doll bed

  34. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    Adorable bed … darling quilt … would be happy to give it a good home πŸ˜‰

  35. Lee says:

    Your doll bed is so cute. Would love to receive the quilt kit. Doing 400posts is no small task. You have done a great job. Blessings

  36. ccthomas says:

    Love your doll bed. The tumbler quilt goes just perfect with the bed.

  37. Rosemarie Graham says:

    melissa, your blog is part of my day! I’m glad you take the time to share. Congrats on your 400 posts!

  38. Brenda says:

    The doll bed is wonderful! I had one from my childhood that I let the grands play with. The girls played with it the correct way with the dolls but it got cracked from the boys climbing on it. Hubs fixed it and I told them no climbing but the next time it was un-fixable. My own fault but the girlies loved to play with it. Your doll quilts and pin keeps are just perfect.

  39. Jacqueline Dunn says:

    I love your blog and the opportunity to win the kit. I have not made a small quilt yet so this would be a great way to start!

  40. AnnAlexion says:

    I’d love to win! I look forward to your posts as I love your new house! And everything else you post. πŸ™‚

  41. I have never made a tumbler block maybe now would be a good time to give it a whirl..Joaniegirl

  42. my doll bed fits inside a round top chest. It was made by a very dear friend now departed this life. I am slowly filling the chest with doll quilts hoping for a girly grandchild. joaniegirl

Comments are closed.