fun mail, vday, and doings

cornbreadandbeansblog 021

First and foremost I’d like to wish you a very happy LOVE DAY!!! If you don’t have a special sweetheart today, God  loves you with an unimaginable amount of love, send Him a Valentine! =)

I’ve gotten some fun mail the last couple of days.  Yesterday in my mailbox I found my sweet toweling yardage I bought from The Fabric Depot. It’s on sale if you want some too.

cornbreadandbeansblog 012

It’s more fun to do dishes with pretty towels isn’t it? I think I’ll make some table runners for my retro kitchen too!

I also got my scrap bag from Homestead Hearth I kept seeing on blogs. I must say when I first opened it I was a bit disappointed, but I went through it again today and thought there was quite a bit I could use.

cornbreadandbeansblog 020

That’s the fun of a grab bag isn’t it? You just don’t know what your going to get!

I’ve been busy working on my red and white quilt. I got the half dresdens done and the flying geese border on.

cornbreadandbeansblog 001

I think I only have room for one more border because of where I plan to hang it.  I’ll have to stew on it awhile.  Since my Mom hasn’t been here to sew, I started doing her’s for her so she doesn’t fall to far behind.  I’m a good kid, huh? LOL

I’ve got her half dresdens pinned on and ready to applique today.

cornbreadandbeansblog 003

I started working a little Blackbird Designs freebie last night. It’s called Know I Know My ABC’s .  I like to keep something to stitch by the couch at night while I’m sitting with The BG whatching TV. The colors they chose are so interesting!

cornbreadandbeansblog 008

Who is itching to get in the garden this spring? This will be my first spring here in the house with my very own, get-to-keep-forever, garden!  So you know I am excited!! We spent the tail end of last summer and fall clearing and clearing and weeding and weeding. Now we have a fairly blank canvas to plant what we please.

It has been my intention to start a garden journal in which to keep pictures of where we started, plans and reminders.  I don’t want to forget plant sunflower seeds!!

So I whipped up this cover yesterday (tutorial here from Bloom blog) and jotted some initial notes.

cornbreadandbeansblog 017

I used some of   The Simple Life fabric, which is quite garden-y don’t ya think? I added a little pocket for my favorite pink pen. Too bad journals don’t have spell check, flowers are kind of hard to spell! (giggle)

cornbreadandbeansblog 016

What do you always mean to plant in your garden, but forget to do it?

Have a great day!!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

4 comments on “fun mail, vday, and doings

  1. Sue says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day! I love that you mentioned God’s unimaginable love. Boy, isn’t that the truth! Keeps me singing 😀

    Your red and white is just so wonderful! I really love that.

    Love the fabrics on your garden journal. I need to make one of those with the gardening season coming up. Journals are much nicer when they have their own sleeve to go on them 😀 Thanks for sharing!

  2. Peggy says:

    Melissa:

    I love the red and white quilt. Can you tell me which one of Judy’s patterns you used for the center medallion?

  3. Brenda says:

    Happy Valentines day back at you! The Red and White quilt is looking great, and you are a good daughter helping your mom keep up. I found the Primative Quilt magazine with your quilt pattern in it. Joann fabrics in Grand Rapids, I bought the last one! Do not know when I will have time to start it, probably going to be quite a while off since I have so many starts right now. But I can sure start finding my fabrics, I always love that part! Love your notebook cover, I just made a scrap bag out of some of the aqua blue fabric. And the stitchery! Well I love it all!

  4. Lee says:

    So love your red and white quilt…..machine quilt or hand quilt? Flowers or veggies in your garden? I am planting veggies this year in a raised bed. I, too, am going to make a journal….not my first journal. I have a flower garden journal and a journal where I write the books I have read since 2000.
    Blessings, Lee

Comments are closed.