Ready for Glamping!

cornbread and beans blog 009

At least in the luggage category.

After I made my new Weekender, I decided I needed a matching toiletry bag. I just made up my own pattern to resemble the Sophia bag. And voila!

cornbread and beans blog 011

Then I recently purchased the cutest glamping fabric from Moda a couple of weekends ago and was trying to decided what to make out of it.   I made up a backpack pattern and went to town:

PicMonkey Collage

cornbread and beans blog 008

And today I am going to attempt a bike basket liner for my beach cruiser.

cornbread and beans blog 015

Too much time on my hands?? LOL maybe.

It’s spring break this week, so today my baby girl wanted to hang out with me in the sewing room. So I got out my old starter machine for her and she  is sewing her first quilt.

cornbread and beans blog 013

I let her go through my scraps and she picked some interesting color combo’s.

cornbread and beans blog 014

We’ll see if she sticks with it. I already made her seam rip a couple of blocks that were no where near 1/4 inch LOL! Poor girl.

Enjoy your weekend!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

8 comments on “Ready for Glamping!

  1. Patty says:

    I love seeing young people wanting to learn to sew! I like the scrappy colors she chose – very happy looking, I hope she doesn’t get discouraged by the ripping out – but the better end results are worth it!

    I have no daughters (only a 20 year old son, more interested in sports than my hobbies, lol), but a few nieces that are beginning to get into sewing and crafting – we have such fun when we get together for ‘crafternoons’ – a modern version of the old quilting/sewing bees 🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    Such a cute use of a great print.

  3. Brenda says:

    Sew sweet! I think she looks about my oldest granddaughter’s age. I should start her on my old machine. I recently started her on embroidery. Better be careful, you might find a stow away in your wonderful camper. Someone like me!

  4. Ani in NC says:

    LOVE all your accessories, the fabric is fab!! I hope your daughter sticks with it, sewing is so fun as well as a useful skill. perhaps put a piece of blue/purple painters tape on the machine bed at the spot where the quarter inch should be from the needle, might help her with keeping it somewhat at a 1/4 inch. I gave my daughter, who is now 18 1/2, a sewing machine for her 9th birthday – she looked at me like I’d given her a tarantula! She went to a sewing camp for kids and then lost interest. There is hope though as she made presents for her friends at Christmas time a couple of years ago, some totes and such, and she can mend split seams etc.

  5. Maggie Herbert says:

    Great job on the glam ping gear good on your daughter for wanting to do sme quilting can’t go wrong with the Mum she has Hgs Maggie.

  6. Sue says:

    Well you crafty girl, you! Those bags are stellar! Ad how neat that your girl wants to sew with you. That’s the way to train them! 😊

  7. Mary says:

    Your bags are just fabulous! Isn’t it fun to have little ones sewing with you? I hope she doesn’t get discouraged with the ripping.

  8. Ani in NC says:

    Melissa all your glampy things are so cute! I want that trailer! My hubs said no way but I’ll work on him till he gives in, heehee. Oh! I was looking for a specific type of pincushion pattern online and found a tiny glampie trailer tute and pattern for the cutest little thing, here it is: http://www.rileyblakedesigns.com/cutting-corners/2012/07/27/glamper-pincushion/

Comments are closed.