Summer’s Here!!! YIPPEEEEEE

cornbread and beans blog 071

It’s about that time when I seem to disappear from my blog.  I’m still around, just sucking up life in Michigan while the livin’s good.

We’ve been having fun (camping,) and working hard (around the yard.)

We constructed a patio in the first part of spring and boy I tell ya, I’ll need a break before we ever do that again!  It’s pretty small, but it keeps me out of the dirt and mud in my favorite place to sit under the trees.  We planted shade grass there for now until we can afford more pavers, and gravel, and sand, and a wet saw. When that happens then we’ll do some fancy curving around the fire pit.  I wanted to do gravel around there, but the brooding genius is adamantly against gravel for some reason??? Men…

Here’s the before with  just the fire pit done.

photo

It’s amazing to me that in just a few short days the naked trees and brown grass exploded with green.

DSCN5066

Of course I made a little quilt to match my new patio cushions.

DSCN5069

DSCN5065

DSCN5072

We’re watching and waiting for things to bloom and grow.

PicMonkey CollageMeanwhile inside spring decor is down and patriotic is up for Memorial Day through July 4th! I’ll share more pic’s next time =)

cornbread and beans blog 046

Hope you are enjoying spring into summer.

Later gators,

Melissa

DSCN5079

This entry was posted in Quilts.

12 comments on “Summer’s Here!!! YIPPEEEEEE

  1. Sue says:

    You guys sure do know how to make things all nice and comfy cozy!! Your back yard looks awesome!

  2. Gayle says:

    What a lovely yard you have – can I come for lunch? LOL

  3. Lee says:

    Love your yard…love your blog…..love Michigan! Blesssings, Lee

  4. Bev says:

    Looks wonderful! We put a new walkway around our pool a few years ago and rented a wet saw. I’m going to make your flag quilt. Thanks so much for sharing the pattern!

    Cheery wave from
    Bev

  5. Teri Maisner says:

    Love the yard…. I saw your hubby today… makes me miss workin’ with him…. I pick up some fat Q’s when I was in Shipshewana to do the Parade Day sew along…. when I was at the quilt shop last Sat I was going to get the dresdan template and they looked at me like I was nuts and said “well what one do you need?” I said I don’t know…. so I guess I need more info on what I am looking for? Sometimes the long-time quilters can be a little snobby to us newbies! T:)

  6. Mary says:

    It looks so pretty and inviting now. Enjoy the summer with your family.

  7. leeanne says:

    Happy summer days to you! Lovely new area to enjoy summer, & the painted toenails too!
    Of course here in New Zealand we head into winter……lucky I love winter!

  8. caroll says:

    Michigan is the best State! I love it here on the west side of the state! Enjoy your summer.

  9. Nancy says:

    The yard is lovely and the little quilt was the perfect touch. I see you got your toes painted, I have yet to do that lol. Enjoy your summer!!

  10. Judith says:

    You did a superb job! I’m sure you will enjoy the fruit of your labors all summer. I especially loved the patriotic quilt wall hanging and would like to make something like it. Did you make the quilt? Any chance there is a pattern for this? If so,can you tell me the name of it? The quilt colors are just wonderful!

  11. Judith says:

    Referring to my earlier post..I must be living on a cloud somewhere! I am a follower of your blog on Bloglovin and am ashamed to admit that I somehow missed your posts for making the patriotic quilt. Thank you so much for the tutorial for making this quilt. I also purchased the fabric for your quilt that was featured in the recent Primitive Quilts and Projects magazine. I found the fabrics you used in the quilt. I was surprised to see how different the actual fabrics are versus the photograph. The actual colors are so much brighter and I love them. I can hardly wait to make this quilt as well as the one with the recent tutorial. Which one I should make first will be a difficult decision. Thanks again!

  12. Karen says:

    I love how your patio turned out. All of the yard decor is colorful and inviting. Hope you have a great summer!

Comments are closed.