Red,White, and Blue

cornbread and beans blog 017

I don’t know about you, but the gals who write the blogs that I regularly read  start to feel like old friends.  When I don’t get to have a glimps into their world I miss them, even though they don’t know me from Adam!! LOL

So just in case you feel the same about me, I thought I better do a check in before things get too busy.  The kids are almost out of school, and my sweet hubs, The Brooding Genius, is taking a few weeks off in the end of June, and we have lots of fun stuff planned.

I finally finished the Red and White quilt!!! Now I am just trying to find someone who can machine quilt it for me that doesn’t have a year wait list.  Do share if you know anyone. =)

I have drawn on the scallops for a scalloped edge and will bind it in red.

cornbread and beans blog 023

On a rainy day last week, I was poking around in my sewing room and found some iron on July 4th bluework sheets that I bought a LONG time ago when I worked at Quilt N Go.

I ironed those babies on some 6 inch white squares and couldn’t help myself from making a little quilt.

I added prairie points in the border and will quilt it up today.  Just in time for the season.

cornbread and beans blog 027

They look pretty patriotic together, don’t they?

cornbread and beans blog 026

Summer is the easiest season for me to decorate for,  just add some red flowers and some flags and things are good to go!

cornbread and beans blog 005

cornbread and beans blog 018

cornbread and beans blog 020

cornbread and beans blog 006

I couldn’t get my mantel just right for some reason, the heights are off I think.  I tried to go a bit nautical.  It is impossible to get a good picture because of the mirrored wall above the mantel.  I get so torn about removing it because it does make the room really bright reflecting all the light, but it does kind of look ridiculous at the same time.

cornbread and beans blog 013

That will be a dilemia for another day.  With an old house we never run out of projects, but I have to say I am the happiest I have ever been in a house.  I feel so lucky to live here, and I won’t mind if we never, ever move. =)

I’m off to do a little weeding and hand stitching!  I started a couple little projects by Sue Daley, her apple core and clamshell patterns.  They are so fun!!! Perfect for take along projects for camping.

cornbread and beans blog 004

Later Gators

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

8 comments on “Red,White, and Blue

  1. Heartsdesire says:

    All quilts are so beautiful, especially the red and white one, and your house looks fabulous with all your wonderful decorations. Very cute little apple core quilt. Love to see it when it’s finished.

  2. Bev says:

    I love your house too! And what you’ve done with it! I’m making your little flag quilt pattern up and I actually found some of the Prairie Paisley fabric that you used for the border! Thanks for sharing the inspiration!

    Cheery wave from
    Bev

  3. Flatlander (Linda) says:

    I love two color quilts but have to admit that red/white/blue stirs me every time I see it. We are SO blessed to live in a country as great as this one is … I try never to forget that. Your home décor looks GREAT … you have a “natural” touch for that 😉

  4. Angie Smail says:

    Love your red, white and blue theme~! Makes me want to get busy on some summer projects! Your red and white quilt is gorgeous! I know what you mean about custom quilters…just heard that my favorite one is giving it up to go back to work full time…I feel lost! Keep up all your inspiring projects and enjoy your fun times this summer!

  5. Mary says:

    I always love seeing your decor, Melissa. You do such a great job and the new little quilts will add punch to the red, white and blue theme.

    Enjoy the family time this summer.

  6. Gayle says:

    wow Melissa – Lots of eye candy in this post. Love the red & white quilt – can’t wait to see it after the quilting is done. Your decorating is awesome – can’t go wrong with Americana for the summer months. I’ve never seen the Apple Core quilt done with English paper piecing, but it makes perfect sense to do it that way! Thanks for all the great photos.

  7. Kathy says:

    I love the way you decorated your home. I was never much for the red, white, & blue, but for some reason I can’t seem to get enough of it. I just finished a Bargellio wall hanging flag. Love, Love love it.
    Your work is beautiful
    Kathy,

  8. Charlotte Wohler says:

    Enjoyed this post!! The red & white quilt is wonderful and the blue one is, too. I have a blue and white ‘historic’ flavored project that you have inspired me to complete. 🙂 Now to set aside time. I enjoy looking at your touch on decorating. Will look forward to many more great posts. Thanks.
    Charlotte

Comments are closed.