I didn’t mean for it to go there…

What a productive day yesterday!!!

Summer decor is packed safely away ( albeit with some sadness on my part.)  Laundry was done.  Dusting occurred in places I haven’t seen since the summer decor went up.  Slip covers were washed and the furniture that is now back to crisp clean white has been moved and vacuumed under.

I find it very peculiar that even though I have a strict NO EATING IN THE FAMILY ROOM policy I found  lots of bits of potato chips, sucker sticks,  and Popsicle sticks under there. Hmmmm…

I wasn’t even done paying off my new sectional sofa before a stray chicken nugget caused my dog to go insane trying to get it and she ripped the stuffin’ out of my BRAND NEW couch!!!

Exhibit A:

cornbread and beans 006

The crazy dog was pretty determined wasn’t she?  I might have felt better about the whole thing if she had at least gotten the chicken nugget.  But it was so far back there that she couldn’t have got it if she had ripped the entire front portion of the couch off.

Since then I put the kabosh on eating in there, but I guess no one listens to Momma.

Breaking Development:

The kids just came outside and asked why I took a picture of them, which led to a discussion of how “they ALWAYS listen to me.”

This should be fun.  We took a little trip around the house to find how they always listen to me.  The little spots of nail polish, my new quilt on the table destroyed by a painting mishap, the broken window, a chip taken out of my beautiful woodwork trim, the spot on the ceiling caused by a flooded bathroom … you get the picture.  That hushed them right up! HA

Aaaand THAT is why Momma needs wine!

hood_07059h

understanding

Oooopps I didn’t mean to go on a rant.

With the exception of changing out my quilts and my fall signs, I am going to live with blank walls and empty table surfaces for a week before I get the fall decor out.  It just feels too good to clutter up again right now.

cornbread and beans 004

To reward myself for working hard yesterday I am starting this kit I bought a while back, pattern by Renee Plains.

cornbread and beans 001

cornbread and beans 003

All the hand stitching should lend itself well to wine drinking outside on the patio!

HAHAHAHA

Later gators,

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

8 comments on “I didn’t mean for it to go there…

  1. EA Bussey says:

    Enjoyed this! Our youngest leaves for college next week. Wonder if I will fix all the mishaps I discover or leave them for memories sake? 🙂 Sure will get quiet around here.

  2. susan says:

    oh dear! kids, huh? you gotta love em. what is that wooden thing the quilt is hanging on? it looks interesting

  3. Sue says:

    Oh land sakes! I haven’t even begun to think of getting the fall decorations out yet! I’m holding on to summer for quite a bit yet.

    I do like your idea of drinking wine on the patio though 😉

  4. Mary says:

    They will be gone all too soon, Melissa. When your house is perfect you will miss them.

    I don’t want to think about summer being over yet. I may leave my summer up until Christmas 😉

  5. Linda H says:

    Melissa … great post! What’s the quilt pattern that is hanging under the wooden sign … like that AND the new one on your “to do” list … Fall is one of my favorite times of the year though this summer (since we moved “Up North”) has been special …. Linda

  6. Deb says:

    Oh Heavens! Melissa, thanks for a chuckle. I’m sure you will patch up your sofa with something nifty and you have a memory to pull out in the future when the girls talk about how they ALWAYS listened to you. I hope the poor dog got a chicken nugget after the fact- she is one determined canine.

  7. Miss Jean says:

    When my daughter was little she had an Easy Bake Oven. She tried melting crayons in it and got melted crayons on her carpet. She piled all her stuffed animals on it and thought I wouldn’t notice. I came into my little son’s room one day. Perfectly clean except for a newspaper on the floor in the middle of the room…..covering spilled paint. Thought I wouldn’t notice! Now they are all grown up and gone and I miss all the drama!

  8. Paula says:

    So glad I found your blog, Melissa~ really enjoyed reading about you and seeing your gorgeous projects! And that is too funny about the chick nugget… *giggle* (And I LOVE the fall gathering sign! *squeal*) I’ll be back for another visit!

Comments are closed.