Change on the horizon

Canada Creek Ranch 043

It’s definitely time for a check in!

It’s been a mighty fine summer. I am feeling, just as I have last few years, very sad to see it go.

PicMonkey Collage1

Perhaps even more so this year with the impending polar vortex that is scheduled by mother nature to come through Michigan in September, and the insane winter we had last year.

PicMonkey Collage2

It must be my age that has changed my outlook on the seasons.  I can remember longing for fall, and being so pumped up for football and orchard weather.  NOT NOW!!!   I think I would be down right content if summer lasted for 8 months, then winter and fall could each take two months apiece.

Canada Creek Ranch 053

I find myself extremely reluctant to battle snow and ice these days, and now understand my Mom’s distaste for fall.  It’s not autumns fault, it’s just that it’s the harbinger of winter.  But I will clam my worries by living in the moment, and enjoying all that summer has left to offer. Surely the beautiful scents, and colors of fall will carry me through the frozen tundra until spring.  If not there’s always Florida, hehe, am I right?

We’re working on the Shasta and I’m excited to share some pictures very soon! We’re almost done, just finishing up the exterior paint job and ordering the Shasta wings.

This summer has been the “try new quilt blocks” summer for me, as far as quilting goes.

I became fascinated by,  and enamored with log cabin pineapple blocks. So I ordered up a Craftsy class and template and started one of my own.  I have some borders to plan and add, but I like it so far.

cornbread and beans quilting 027

I pieced together a few online tutorials, and added some of my own math to make a “Victory Garden” knock off.  It was on my quilt bucket list. Check!

Cornbread and Beans Quilting Co 009

I’m finishing up the last rows of this kaleidoscope block quilt.  I ordered the kaleido ruler a month back, and couldn’t wait to try it.  They are fun little blocks.

cornbread and beans quilting 022

We have a week left until school starts and I’m interviewing for an “out of the house” job this week.

Yikes, changes are a coming!

Melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

5 comments on “Change on the horizon

  1. Sandi says:

    I love the pictures of the quilts you posted, all are gorgeous! I might have to try the Victory Garden, it’s so pretty in the colors you used.

  2. Mary says:

    I am so with you and winter months. It’s a good thing that we don’t have the really nasty stuff here. Summer looks like it was great for you.

    Love the kaleidoscope quilt and pineapple has always been one of my favorites.

  3. It looks like you had a fantastic summer. I really like your kaleidoscope top with the gorgeous fabrics. Good luck on your interviews!

  4. I love your pineapple quilt! Also love the kaleidoscope quilt! Nice work

  5. Linda H says:

    Glad you had a good summer ~ “up north” it was cooler/drier than normal but still a beauty! I just read that we’re supposed to have a repeat (even earlier) of last winter … better get the place buttoned-up and tucked in sooner than later! Great pictures ~ thanks for sharing and fingers crossed for you on the interview! Linda

Comments are closed.