Thread painting adventure

Cornbread and Beans Blog 001

I guess after you’ve made 1001 quilts you want to try some new things, get out of your comfort zone, ya know?

So when I had some Winter’s Lane scraps I decided to play around with an abstract quilt.  I ended up with a nice big chunk of white space, and I kept envisioning a big red tree there. Hmmm? I could try and draw it with thread!  I googled thread painting and there are some amazing images of what people can draw with thread.

I ironed some interfacing on the back and set to work trying my hand at thread painting. I put the feed dogs down and used the darning foot. So fun!! I just free handed it and let the lines go where they may.

Cornbread and Beans Blog 011

The trunk is straight stitch and the branches are using a zig zag stitch.  It’s totally a rookie try, and this one will probably end up shoved in a scrap bin, but I think I want to explore this technique some more!

Cornbread and Beans Blog 008

What new things are you trying lately?

Later gators,

Melissa

8 comments on “Thread painting adventure

  1. Karen in Breezy Point says:

    I think it looks pretty awesome!

  2. Kitty says:

    Beautiful!!

  3. Mary says:

    It looks awesome, Melissa. GREAT job!

  4. Linda Morrison says:

    For your first time at “thread painting” you did an awesome job!

  5. Linda H says:

    I think it looks lovely … don’t throw it out!!

  6. Gwen Oswald says:

    I think it is just amazing. You are so creative!

  7. Diann Selke says:

    I love it…….maybe if you keep going and extend your branches over the crazy patchwork blocks you will like it more………If you decide to scrap it…let me know you would have one happy camper to take it off your hands.

Comments are closed.