Tree Huggers

Cornbread and Beans Weblog 2014 041

It’s been the winter of tree quilts here at my house for the week before Christmas.

It all started when I had a break in Christmas gift making and decided to make my version of Crazy Mom Quilts tree quilt for …gasp…MYSELF!! I know who makes a quilt for themselves at Christmas time? But I was in desperate need of a quilt for the couch that only I could use.  People with teenaged kids will understand that sometimes you want a quilt that doesn’t smell like teenaged feet, and without drips of food on it.

Christmas 2014 034

I backed it with the softest, squishiest, loviest cuddle fabric, layered it with the highest, fluffiest batting,  and quilted it with the fewest of lines to make it the darned most comfy quilt I’ve ever made!

Too comfy!! So comfy, in fact,  there was a revolt in my house, and a demand for a most comfy quilt for said teenaged children.

Christmas 2014 038

Hence began my four day sewing rampage to make Christmas tree quilt presents for my littles. They were just in time for Christmas Eve gifting to compliment new jammies and slippers.

My eyes were seriously crossing putting in the last binding stitches. But oh so worth it!   My quilt, I’m happy to say, is smell free, and so far no food spills!

Christmas 2014 036

Now we are all tree huggers!

Later gators,

melissa

This entry was posted in Quilts.

9 comments on “Tree Huggers

  1. Teri Maisner says:

    so cute!!! Glad you are feeling better!!!

  2. Ann Hudson aka KittyAnnArt says:

    So NICE! Glad you got them all finished so y’all do the pix together, so cute! LOVE your quilts, gives me ideas for next year, thanks! Ani in N.C.

  3. Melanie says:

    Darling quilts — great colors for your ‘Uptown’ girls!

  4. bermudagirl says:

    Lovely quilts Melissa, all three look fantastic!!!

  5. Judy says:

    No wonder they revolted! The quilts are all beautiful.

  6. Mary says:

    Love it!!! Those are all wonderful too.

  7. Jean says:

    I don’t know how you made them all in such a short time! I love them all!!! Happy New Year. No snow???

  8. Kate says:

    Love those quilts and love the colors you chose. Where’s the pattern for them?

  9. Linda Morrison says:

    Such cute quilts! Lovely!!!

Comments are closed.