Beating the winter blahs

It’s tough to get motivated in January when the funds are low from Christmas expenses, and it too dang cold to go outside.

 I’ve wallowed around as much as I can without going full blow cabin fever crazy. So a few days ago while I was in my sewing room trying to straighten it up, I decided it was time for a makeover. A project is just what I need to beat the winter blahs!!

Paint is not too expensive, right? It’s especially not too expensive if it saves me from going crazy!! LOL At least that is what I told The BG.

After we bought our house, and before we even moved in, we HAD to paint the sewing room. It was the first thing we did.  The room was old wood paneling, not a pretty kind, the ugly 70’s kind. And the window wall was that horrible 80’s forest green.  We were broke (of course) so I just used some paint that was already on hand.  It’s a really ugly cream color that looks like it used to be white but someone smoked cigars around it for 100 years.  We ran out before we got to the window wall, so that has remained the ugly forest green.

But that is all changing as we speak.

makeover

I painted all day yesterday and will finish up today.  I brought a storage piece up from the basement for a makeover. I will rearrange the furniture, make new curtains, and solve my closet, and lighting problem

Please come back for some before and after photos… after the  new light and curtain fabric get here.  Those two things are going into the budget next paycheck (don’t tell The BG!!!)

p.s Just kidding The BG knows all.

p.p.s. The BG is happy to make me happy.

p.p.p.s I love him.

8 comments on “Beating the winter blahs

  1. beth says:

    I love your selections. Can’t wait to see the end result. I have an ugly sewing room and I want a complete make over too..paint walls, window treatments, refinish desk and book case, wall hangings.

  2. Martha Cook says:

    Sweet! Feels good doesn’t it? Push back those blah feelings ,redoing the blah room. Good for you!

  3. gayleburton says:

    Can’t wait to see!

  4. Mary says:

    I will look forward to seeing the makeover.

  5. Nancy Sasse says:

    You crack me up! I love reading your posts!! Happy re-decorating:)

  6. Colleen says:

    Can’t wait to see! You are funny girlie!

  7. Linda Morrison says:

    I can’t wait to see the before and after pics of your sewing room! Maybe that’s what I need to do is work on getting my sewing room in ship shape! lol!

  8. Linda H says:

    Need to put on my “big girl panties” and tackle my sewing rooms (yes, that’s plural). I have procrastinated for SO long it’s not even funny anymore. Plus with the winter storms we’ve been getting Up North there is no excuse since we’re pretty much house-bound for awhile. I know I will feel better afterwards and be more creative … it’s just that first step. As my sister tells me … how do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time ….. Linda

Comments are closed.