Kitschy Sewing Room Craft

ornament plaque

In between coats of paint drying on my re-purposed storage furniture for the sewing room, I’ve been putting the shelves back up, and putting things back ON the shelves.

I stumbled across this kitschy little project and thought I’d share.

It’s probably the easiest craft EVER.

The deer head was my Christmas ornament this year, but it was so cute I couldn’t pack it away, so I threw it in my sewing room instead. When I came across it today I thought HEY! I should hang this up.

You could use an ornament, an old toy, a pez dispenser, anything fun that you like.  Mount it in a frame for some funky wall art for your sewing room.

I hate it when people say this, but I really DID have all the stuff to make it laying around. If you are a sewer/crafter I bet you do too.

IMG_2934

I cut a piece of scrapbook paper, glued it to the cardboard back of my little pink  dollar bin frame from the craft store.  I used E600 to glue the deer head in the middle.

Wha-lah! Instant kitch:

ornament plaque

Incidentally, while I was looking up how to spell kitsch, I read the definition.  Apparently kitsch is considered something in poor taste but appreciated in an ironic way.  Huh, and all this time I was appreciating kitsch completely non-ironically.

