Farmhouse Glam

c and b 002

I think I freaked some people out with my last decorating post.  Especially my husband and my Mom.  I hope you lovely readers aren’t too put off by the direction my tastes are moving, and that you continue to see something here in my posts, whether  it be quilting or decorating, that  interests you.  And if not we can still be friends!  Just think of it as if your friend got a really bad haircut: you still stay friends, say nice things, and wait for it to grow out! LOL

I can only explain it as I’ve had the some of the same furniture and decor for 12 years or more, and quite frankly I just get sick of looking at it after all that time.  I explained it to my husband as: you wouldn’t want the same stuff in the year 2000 as you would in 1988 right?  I think he is mostly concerned about me spending a ton of cash on new things.

Change doesn’t have to mean buying all new things, sometimes you can just add a little paint!

I got a change bug this week and incorporated some of the design elements I was talking about last time in this little nook under the stairs.

cornbread and beans quilting blog 001

I cut a template out of  cereal box cardboard and traced it on the wall with chalk. I used chalk paint to trace the lines.

wall

Then I *GASP* painted the sideboard with the same chalk paint. I still need to wax and distress it.  It’s looking a little starkly white at the moment.  Added a pretty mirror and some new lamps.

Viola! Something new to look at!

c and b 006

I can add the quilt shelf back when I get sick of looking at it like this, but for now it’s feeling fresh, uncluttered,  and spring like

c and b

Enjoy the weekend!

Melissa

Linking here.

7 comments on “Farmhouse Glam

  1. Linda clear says:

    Love it looks great!

  2. Linda H says:

    It’s not my taste but I think you did a GREAT job and it does look “refreshingly Spring”. LOVE to read what you’re up to … thanks for sharing!

  3. Sandi says:

    I love it!!! You are so brave. Hugs,

  4. Karen T says:

    You did a really nice job. I like the idea of using the chalk for the pattern….though it might not work in a more trafficked area. Very clever!

  5. Midge says:

    I so enjoy all that you do, keep it up

  6. Mary says:

    It looks so different. You did a great job with the painting and it does look fresh and “springy”.

  7. Rose Hunter says:

    I think you are amazing!

Comments are closed.