where every single thing has a place…

BEFORE

I was massively inspired to do a sewing room re-do when I recently went into my stash closet and found this:

AVALANCHE!!!!!!

Can you believe I would even share that mess?

Don’t get me wrong, I am very grateful to have a room at all the sew in, even if it is tiny AND messy.

But.

I was sick of trying to find fabric in that tiny closet.

I was sick of my cutting table set up too, with the whole skirt thing that I had to lift up to rummage through boxes that held fabric scraps, paper scraps, crafty scraps, you name it…it was shoved under there.

Very unorganized.

I wanted everything out in the open, labeled, and ready to use.

ENTER SOMEONE”S BRILLIANT IDEA!!

I was poking around on Pinterest when I saw this woman’s genius idea. (click here for source)

That is just what I needed!!!! I made The BG take me to Target as soon as he got home from work so that I could shamelessly copy her idea.  I found some white bookshelves that I thought just might work.

We loaded up 4 and I put them together that night.  That was the easy part.

It took me 3 Days to tame all that jumbled up fabric you saw in the closet above.

A trip to Meijer’s netted a really great deal on some scrap book boxes, and a 2 trips to the dollar store ( I underestimated the amount of scrap fabric I had) supplied me with lots of cheap storage bins.

One last trip to Salvation Army for a great deal on a this  hutch and I was ready to ORGANIZE!

AFTER

disclaimer: pay no attention to  the hideous yellow paint that lives in every room of my home, or the trim that needs to be painted, or the wood floors that need refinishing, etc

The craft desk/netbook spot:


New cutting table (which is just 4 book cases placed in a square shape) and fabric storage. Fabric RIGHT where I can see it and grab it when a sewing frenzy begins!!

Trims and paper and embellishments in nicely labeled boxes!!



New hutch to store cute things I find in my travels (I’m sure it will fill up in no time hehehe)

Sewing area.

And an organized closet with color labeled scrap bins!!!

Glad to be done and glad to have a better more organized space!

Later Gators,

melissa

28 comments on “where every single thing has a place…

  1. Lizzie says:

    Wow, what a great place to work. Good job! Lizzie

  2. Sue says:

    That is awesome! What a great idea! I love that you can just grab what you need right at your fingertips! And I love that organized closet !! My fabric is in my closet. I’ve been working on straightening it. It needs help 😀

    What is the height of those bookcases?

  3. Mary says:

    It really looks fabulous and I am sure it is so much easier to find what you need now. Great job!!!

  4. Melissa says:

    Melissa,
    You are an inspiration to me! My sewing room is the spot that I have avoided all summer for just this reason. Now it’s almost time to go back to work and it’s still a mess!
    I love the book case idea and I might just copy you. (or that other gal). 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your “new” room. Now I am just wondering… does it make you want to jump right in and start creating, or do you hate to mess it up?!
    Smiles,
    Melissa

  5. Kathy Foster says:

    Wow, great job, Missy – you are such an inspiration!!!!!

  6. Gale says:

    OH MY GOODNESS! This is beautiful. You did a great job and I can only imagine the sewing that will be going on in there.

    Happy Stitching!!!

    gale

  7. Char says:

    Ooo great job! And I like the yellow paint.

  8. Carol says:

    It’s fantastic…what an inspiration!

  9. Totally beautiful….function at it’s finest! Love the color of your room too! Ü

  10. Valerie says:

    Oh I LOVE this! So what is on the top? You did a great job!!!

  11. Kathi says:

    Ok, that wonderful cutting table is now something I want to copy. What a great idea and the way you put everything together looks so cute!! Great job.

  12. yvonne says:

    WOW! What an amazing transformation and the bookcases are just too clever. I want to do the same, but I don’t have the space. I do have a full size bookcase that I was going to sell at my next garage sale – now it’s going to be my storage area.

  13. Kathryn Duke says:

    this is sooo cleaver and looks lovely…it makes me want to repaint and redecorate!!! please take a look at my dilemma!
    http://quiltrestoration.blogspot.com

    thanks!!! any ideas???

  14. pat sloan says:

    Brilliant! I like the yellow walls too… wink!

  15. Melody says:

    Oh my gosh! It looks great. And your room is beautiful! Although I would just call the closet creative chaos and be done with it.

  16. Jean says:

    Great idea! I’m going to pass this one on to my friends. I have a “professional” type cutting table that I’ve had for quite a few years or I would copy you. Love the bright and cheery sewing room and I even love the yellow paint!

  17. Linda Clear says:

    This explains why you haven’t called, or picked up the phone when I call! lol It sure looks great kiddo! Love the hutch(what a find!) And like so many others I really like the yellow walls. It reminds me of sunshine and everybody knows you are the sunshine in my life! Can’t wait to see all the creative things you’ll be making in that wonderful space.

  18. What a fabulous sewing room. I love all the colors and your cutting table turned out perfectly! So glad I could inspire you :-> All the other organization looks great too. Isn’t it wonderful to have a dedicated space. xo, suzy

  19. Barbara says:

    When can you come to Texas and organize my collection? You did a wonderful job!!!

  20. Ruth says:

    Your pre-clean up closet looks like mine! I have a large sewing table, which I might be able to put some shelves under. Your pictures made me think that I have wasted space under there. I think I’ll try to find something to utilize the space better. I doubt if I would ever have such a neat sewing room though! Love it!

  21. Tricia Anne says:

    Just precious! I love your sewing room!! :o)

  22. Debbie G says:

    So pretty!

  23. Brenda says:

    I love this! I like the book shelves better, because hubs could build those for me. I so want to do away with the folding table for cutting and the sore back with it! Thanks for sharing your room is so stinkin cute!

  24. Gmama Jane says:

    Oh I do Love your sewing room!! May I share it on my blog?? I’m showing my dream sewing spaces compared to My reality!! HA!! I need to do what you did!
    Blessings
    Gmama Jane

  25. Brenda says:

    I just remembered to show hubs this idea for a cutting table that I pinned from this post on my Pinterest board. He was all for it, but I will have to wait for materials to be bought because I am short and he will have to build the bookcases from scratch. Just wanted to tell you again how your room inspires me. I do need to get my area more organized soon!

  26. Linda says:

    Looks awesome, Melissa!!! Like I want to live in your sewing room!!! 🙂 I could have it all messy in like an hour. LOL!

  27. Sandra Henderson says:

    Oh my goodness! This is gorgeous! What a pretty sewing room! I need to get my act together… You should send this to a magazine. Love your patterns!~

Comments are closed.