Sewing Room Makeover

c and beans sewing room 026

Let’s talk about how wonderful sewing/craft rooms are for a minute. Is there a more important room in the house? I think not! I mean sure I like to eat, so kitchens are good, but I like to sew more!!  In my house it is the one room that no one else goes, so that means it’s ALL MINE. Can I get a WOO HOO!   If ever I need an escape, I just go in, close the door, then peace and tranquility is mine all mine.

We spend so very much time in our sewing/craft rooms, so why not make them as personal, and as best as they can be.  If that means painting the walls hot pink, or displaying your kitschy collection of Florida souvenir shell art I say Go For It Girl! You don’t have to be a grown up in this room, it’s alllll yours.

Now if all that is sounding a bit selfish, to that I say:

1.  there are way too many sharp objects in a sewing room for kids and the clumsy to be let in.

2. you do so much for everyone, treat yo self!

To make my sewing room the best it could be I took stock of the things that were bothering me.

listOkay these issues are very fixable without having to bust the budget. Paint is a cheap fix, employing my husband and kid to take out the bed was free, I had an old t.v. cabinet my dad built me in the basement for storage, and I shopped around for fabric and a light fixture with more wattage than the one 60 watt bulb that was in there.

I only realized now that I was a bad blogger and didn’t take real before photos. I snapped some iphone shots mid-painting. Everything looks really more of a mess than it normally would be,  but these horrid pictures will give you an idea of the before.

PicMonkey CollageIMG_2927

There was a twin bed in the room that we thought we would need for guests, but in the 2 years we’ve lived here it’s only been used about 3 times.  This room shares a closet with our bed room (it passes through the end of the hallway) and it was so hard to get into that my scrap baskets kept dumping over and everything was a mess in there. So taking out the bed to make room for a storage piece was essential, and moving the cutting table station away from the wall allowed me even more storage in the opening in back. There are rolling drawers under the top of the cutting table.

I drew out a little layout that I thought would give me more space for laying quilts out on the floor.

Sewing Room layoutIt’s not a big room, but I think I have maximized the space was well as I know how.

c and beans sewing room 010

The new cutting area with storage under and access from the window wall side:

c and beans sewing room 013

Sewing table remained in the same area due to the electrical.

c and beans sewing room 020

c and beans sewing room 027

c and beans sewing room 028

My little bitty desk.

c and beans sewing room 022

c and beans sewing room 024

With my prized Florida shell art.  It’s so pretty and sparkly in real life, it’s hard to capture in a picture.

c and beans sewing room 032

c and beans sewing room 220

c and beans sewing room 025

The t.v. cabinet turned scraps and what-not’s storage.

c and beans sewing room 006

c and beans sewing room 002

The hutch with a fresh coat of paint. It holds my ironing supplies because I usually have the ironing board right in front of it nice and close to where I sew.

c and beans sewing room 038

 I built this little faux fur covered window bench with a piece of wood, some retro looking wooden legs painted with Martha Stewart metallic paint, some foam, and faux fur. It’s waiting for a cute pillow to be made for it.

c and beans sewing room 037

The cute new light fixture that gives off twice the light as before! 150 watts baby!!! hahaha

c and beans sewing room 054

Would I still like to rip that wood paneling off, calk the trim around the top, fix the cracking ceiling? Sure, but those weren’t on the list! LOL

It’s still looks much better.

c and beans sewing room 046

c and beans sewing room 047

I hope my little sewing room redo has inspired someone out there to do a little refresh of your own space!

Later gators,

Melissa

 Linking here!

17 comments on “Sewing Room Makeover

  1. Jean says:

    Your sewing room is so bright and cheery that it must be a joy to be in! Good job!!!

  2. terrieannie says:

    Wow! I wish my room was as big as yours is…. I covet your cutting/storage table mightily (but it wouldn’t fit in my room)!! I also covet your abundance of windows. My kids painted my room a lemon mousse color for my birthday one year and that really helps brighten the room in the evenings. Next big task is to replace the grungy old carpet with bamboo flooring. That will make a big difference, too.

  3. Jane says:

    Your space looks great and spacious too. NIcely done Melissa.

  4. Connie Jerrell says:

    Love, love, love your sewing room. I especially like your cutting table, the windows and curtains and the colors all around. A fun place to sew I think!!

  5. Melanie says:

    Gorgeous room — I would never leave it….Enjoy!!!

  6. Brenda Towsley says:

    Love your make over! I just need to take time and put my area back together. Looks like the fabric monster had an upset stomach. Love all the mini quilts! I am working on my first one to start a grouping over my living room couch.

  7. Beautiful! What an inspiring place in which to be creative. Thanks for sharing at Fridays Unfolded!

  8. Mary says:

    I love it and it looks so efficient now.

  9. Linda Morrison says:

    I will give you a big Woohoo! I love your sewing room! It looks lovely! Every one that sews needs a sewing room to call her own! Like you said there are sharp thing that we sewers use that are not good for little one to be around. And also a work in progress doesn’t have to be put up every time you have company or you need the dining room table to eat dinner on. You can leave every thing out so you can return to your project from right where you left it! I love that part. Cause if you only have a few minutes here and there to work on your project it just makes sense to have a room to have your sewing project ready to pick up where you left off. You have an awesome sewing room!!!!!

  10. Leeanne says:

    OH WOW!!! This so pretty and practical………………good for you!

  11. Phyllis says:

    So bright and pretty!! Love it.

  12. Judy says:

    Such a happy place!

  13. I think your sewing room is just splended! I adore all the pops of color and your organization. I have my own space, too, and could spend every waking hour in here, but I do have a hubby who requires some attention…..lol!

  14. […] Cornbread & Beans showed us her Sewing Room Makeover […]

  15. […] sewing room makeover has me drooling and just a tad envious.  Cornbread and Beans did a great job with this and I plan to show that cutting counter to my hubby and ask him to make […]

  16. This turned out amazing!! So wish I had a room like this!! Thanks for sharing at Fridays Unfolded!! Featuring you this week 🙂

  17. Ruth says:

    I love your room! It’s always fun to see how other quilters fix up their rooms. We moved and down-sized last year and now we don’t have a guest room either. I figured the sewing room was more important. I can still set up a roll-away bed in there as well as a blow up mattress, but if that doesn’t suffice, any guests can stay at a motel. We will even pay for it – if it’s family. You can see my room in last Oct. 10th blog if you want.

Comments are closed.