Parade Day Sew Along Part 2- Star Block

cornbreadandbeansblog 004

Welcome back to the Parade Day Sew Along!

Anybody sewing along????

Today I’m thinking about all things summer and Americana;  apple pie, baseball, red geraniums, picnics, watermelon, and homemade ice cream!

What goes better with our Dear Old Flag than stars?

Let’s make the star block.

You will need:

4 white squares at  2 1/4 x 2  1/4

1 white square at 4 3/4 x 4 3/4 cut twice on the diagonal

4 blue squares at 2 5/8 x 2 5/8 cut once on the diagonal

1 red square at 4 x 4.

cornbread and beans blog 009

Sewing

Lay our your star block.

cornbread and beans blog 011

Using a 1/4 inch seam allowance, make the flying geese blocks that make up the star points.

I have taken a picture of the steps  I sew my flying geese in. Press toward the darker fabric:

cornbread and beans blog 014

Trim off the dog ears on the flying geese and you should now have this:

cornbread and beans blog 015

Sew your pieces into rows, press toward the flying geese:

cornbread and beans blog 017

Sew your rows together and admire your cutie tootie star block!!! It should measure 7 1/2 inches square.

cornbread and beans blog 018

This is what we have now, 4 flags and a star:

cornbread and beans blog 019

Don’t sew the blocks together yet.

I hope you will link up so we can all share! =)

See you back here next week for the dresdens.

Melissa

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

7 comments on “Parade Day Sew Along Part 2- Star Block

  1. Karen says:

    That looks great, and your instructions are easy to follow. I wish I had something to link up!

  2. Maggie says:

    Done my four flags now onto the star

  3. Patty says:

    Your instructions are so easy to follow! I have been out of town due to a family emergency, so I am going to be behind … but I hope to catch up this weekend … got lots of time just for sewing 🙂

    Patty

  4. Miss Jean says:

    I just “discovered” this quilt you have designed and I LOVELOVELOVE IT!!!!!! Good job!

  5. Ann Hudson says:

    I’m working as time permits, have all cut out and ready to sew after dinner tonight.
    *Melissa – will you please ‘unlinky’ my blog – I changed it’s name and now the linky link doesn’t work! Oops! =0)

  6. marylou55 says:

    I haven’t been blog reading in a long time, so I’m behind on this one; but I am going to be sewing today. Thanks for the project; it looks like fun!

  7. Darcy says:

    I’m enjoying sewing-a-long. Thank you ;o)

Comments are closed.