Parade Day Sew Along- Part 3

cornbreadandbeansblog 004

YEAAAAHHHHHHHH!! It’s actually sunny today! My spirit is soaring. It’s amazing what a little sunshine can do for a light deprived Michigander. =)

With the sunshine it is easy to put me in a summery 4th of July mood.

So lets get started making our little parade buntings  made out of dresedens.

Cutting:

If using fat quarters :cut 3 strips of blue 1- 3/4  x  22

                                                 3 strips of red 1- 3/4  x  22

If using yardage: cut 2 strips of blue 1 -3/4 x wof

                                        2 strips of red 1- 3/4 x wof

cornbread and beans blog 001

Sewing

Sew the red strips to the blue strips  using a 1/4 inch seam. Press toward the blue  (we will be pressing half toward the red in later steps.) Your strips should measure 3 inches.

cornbread and beans blog 006

Now using your dresden ruler, line it up on the 3 inch mark.  The 1- 1/2 inch mark on the ruler should be right across the middle where the red and blue meet. Using your rotary cutter,  trim the side off and make your first cut.

cornbread and beans blog 002

Flip your ruler upside down and make your second cut.

cornbread and beans blog 005

Continue cutting your strips until you have a pile of 20 red on the top blue on the bottom , and 20 blue on the top red on the bottom.

cornbread and beans blog 007

Using a quarter inch seam allowance fold your blades in half at the “fat” end and feed them through your machine.

cornbread and beans blog 008

  You can chain stitch these.

cornbread and beans blog 014

Now cut the threads that bind your blades together. For each blade you will trim the corner off with scissors (being careful not to cut into the stitching), finger press the seam open, turn the blade tip inside out, and using a bodkin or something sharp push the tip out.

PicMonkey Collage

Now take 10 matching blades to your ironing board and press the point of the blade.

cornbread and beans blog 013

Leave 5 of the blades pressed toward the blue fabric, and press 5 of the blades toward the red fabric.  This will aid in butting up your seams when we sew them together.

Here are my first 10 blades ready to become a bunting!

cornbread and beans blog 015

Take two blades and butt up the seams, you can pin if you like. Sew using a 1/4 inch seam back stitching at the beginning and end. Sew together 5 pairs.

PicMonkey Collage

Press the pairs and then sew 2 pairs together, repeating until you have sewn 10 blades together.

PicMonkey Collage2

Repeat until you have made 2 blue at the top and 2 red at the top buntings.

cornbread and beans blog 022

Aren’t they cute?? Love it!

We now have 4 flags, 1 star, and 4 buntings.

cornbread and beans blog 023

I’ll be back next week for part 4!

Later gators,

Melissa

5 comments on “Parade Day Sew Along- Part 3

  1. Kathy says:

    I just love this. I get excited when I see your blog in the mail. I’m saving all the instructions so I can do this
    Thanks so much for sharing

  2. Patty says:

    I played catch-up this weekend, and need to take pictures to show that I’ve actually done something, lol. I finished the flags (I made 6 – I wasn’t sure which combinations to use) and the center star, and I’m working on the buntings. I would have finished the buntings, but …. I was v-e-r-y careful cutting the wedge pieces, but they’re not lining up quite right when I sew them together. So, I’m taking my time at the ironing board, kind of wrestling them to look right. This has been so much fun – I hope to get pictures tonight to share! Thanks again for providing us this opportunity!

  3. Miss Jean says:

    I”m loving this quilt! As soon as my life slows down I’m starting on mine!!! By the way, I love how your living room turned out. What color/brand of paint did you use? Just lovely.

  4. Ann Hudson says:

    Just getting started on the buntings today after having to order the Dresden ruler as my store in town didn’t have one. Seems like the mail takes forever when you’re waiting on something you really need! 🙂 The package arrived today, to my surprise the ruler came with a bamboo point turner! I usually use a chopstick to poke out points which works ok too. Off to sew on this rainy cloudy day. http://kittyannart.blogspot.com/

  5. Ani in NC says:

    I made all my little Dresden pieces today, had to wait for the ruler to be mailed to me as couldn’t find it locally.

Comments are closed.