Parade Day Part 4

cornbreadandbeansblog 004

Hi there friends!

We’re almost done with our Parade Day quilt!!

Today we are going to cut our setting triangles, corner triangles, and applique our buntings.

Cutting for setting triangles.

Cut 2 squares at 11 1/4 inches cut once on the diagonal.

cornbread and beans blog 001

For each setting triangle finger press in half ,

cornbread and beans blog 004

then center the bunting in the middle, pin and applique with your favorite method (machine stitch, blanket stitch, or hand applique.)

cornbread and beans blog 006

I actually love to hand applique and encourage you to try it if you haven’t done it.   I always think of it just like hand sewing the back of your binding on. It’s that simple.

cornbread and beans blog 019

My friend Jane, who taught me how to hand applique gave me these tips when I started: use YLI silk thread because it just melts right in like butter, and use straw needles (11, or 10.)

cornbread and beans blog 015

Once you have all the buntings sewn on to your setting triangles you will then make the center portion of the bunting.

1. Use this template: Parade Day Template and trace it on to the dull side of freezer paper.  (Or if you are machine stitching you can use a fusible, like steam-a-seam)

2. Press with shiny side down onto the BACK of your fabric, cut out leaving a  1/4 inch seam, and baste.

3. Finger press in half

4. Center on your bunting, pin, and applique.

***Edit: I forgot to add that you need to pull out the freezer paper and basting stitches!

PicMonkey Collage

Now we can lay our quilt out into rows paying special attention to the direction your flags are facing.

cornbread and beans blog 020

Sew into rows with a 1/4 inch seam. Press toward flag blocks. Here I am pinning my first seam, see where the over hang of the triangle block is:

cornbread and beans blog 022

Here are the rows all sewn up:

cornbread and beans blog 023

Now sew the rows together:

cornbread and beans blog 025

cornbread and beans blog 026

Once the rows are all sewn, it’s time to add the corner triangles,

Cutting the corner triangles:

Cut 2 squares 7 1/4 inches cut once on the diagonal.

cornbread and beans blog 027

Finger press each corner triangle and center on the corner blocks. Pin and sew.

cornbread and beans blog 028

It looks a little wonky when you have it all sewn on, but we are going to trim the corners to square it.

cornbread and beans blog 030

Using your rotary cutting and a large square ruler ( I used a 12 1/2 inch square) Square your corners.

cornbread and beans blog 033

You should now have a 25 inch square quilt center! Whoop whoop!

cornbread and beans blog 034

From here you can add any sized inner and outer borders you want, but we will discuss the sizes I choose next week!

Here is my finished quilt a long quilt:

cornbread and beans blog 046

See ya next week for borders!

Later Gators,

Melissa

4 comments on “Parade Day Part 4

  1. Tammy says:

    Melissa, I’m absolutely loving this sweet patriotic quilt. I need to find some background fabric for my dresden buntings and I’ll be on my way with another step. Thanks so much for sharing this with us.

  2. Karen says:

    I have been looking forward to your post all week. Thanks for all your hard work, it is beautiful.

  3. Mary says:

    That looks so cute. You will have it finished in time for Memorial Day decorating!

  4. Asiyah says:

    So, so cute!

Comments are closed.